Skip to Main Content

Library and Data Services for MSB Faculty

Beginning of Semester

Teaching alliance with Library

I am here to help your students in class and on their own time.

In Class:

I can come into your classroom or your students can use the Dubin Room.

5 min- Overview of library services and finding information on the library's website.

30 min- To cover 3 relevant databases, including one article database (covering why and how to cite the source).

20 min- Hands-on time working on the assignment.

7 min- To discuss problems/strategies.

other items to cover:

45 min- Use of Generative Artificial Intelligence: Prompts creation, ethics, critical thinking, and tools.

20 min- Data sources and evaluation and Open data.

15 min- Using Refworks or Zotero to collect and manage citations and create a bibliography.

20 min- Evaluating webpages and effective web-searching.

10 min- How to find non-published information:  associations, conferences, interviews.

30 min- Understanding bias and developing critical thinking.

Customized - Tailored to the needs of your course, for example.

On their time:

If you don't have time for me to come to your class, please consider some of these services: create a course guide to assist students in assignments and further enlightenment, add current awareness on your Canvas page, or add links to learn better web searching skills.  I can also create or find online tutorials for specific databases.  Feel free to direct your students to me during my chat hours (change every semester), schedule a Research Consultation, or set up a Four-Warm Bodies session.

Guides:  A course guide or subject guide that focuses attention on relevant sources or services and acts as a primer to start exploring.

Online Tutorial: Concentrates on how to use one source that may have a steep learning curve, such as Simmons/MRI, etc.

Research Consultation: Schedule an appointment to discuss your project with the business librarian, whether you're just getting started, are almost done, or want to get your research published.

Student-requested sessions:  This arrangement by appointment is made between students or clubs, and me to come to Hariri or over Zoom.  I can teach them a database such as Bloomberg or other complicated databases that require some kind of hands-on experience to understand how to use it.

How to Put Materials on Reserve?

To have material put on reserve at the Lauinger Circulation Desk, complete and submit the appropriate form(s). Media, electronic, and print items can be put on reserves.

Book Reserves Form

  • There is no limit to the number of items a professor may place on course reserves
  • Faculty can choose between 2 hour, 4 hour, 24 hour, and 3 day loan periods.
  • All books, book chapters, and articles can be placed on reserve.
  • If the library does not have the item, a copy will be ordered.
  • Personal copies of books can also be placed on reserve.
  • When Access Services staff create a Course Reserves for individual classes a link to that class' Course Management System page is simultaneously created. You can access your reserves without leaving Canvas. Find our link, Georgetown Reserves and Resources, under Course Tools on your class' Canvas page.

Electronic Reserves Form

  • There is no limit to the number of e-reserves a faculty member may request. 

  • An e-reserve is a single title of a book chapter, a journal article, or professors' notes, syllabi, or handouts. 

  • If the library does not have the desired book or article, we will attempt to purchase it. 

  • Due to copyright restrictions, consumable materials such as lab manuals and workbooks will not be scanned for e-reserves.

  • We cannot scan more than approximately 20% of a book due to Copyright. Read more about restrictions on e-reserves in our Copyright Policies.

  • PDFs will be made available to faculty via GU Box. PDFs will be scanned with OCR so they are accessible by assistive technology software. You are welcome to use these PDFs in future semesters without re-requesting them through Access Services.

  • If chapters are requested from an eBook owned by the Library we will provide the faculty member with the permalink to that eBook to post to the course’s Canvas. If journal articles are requested from journals Lauinger subscribes to (and has access to the needed volume/issue we will provide the faculty member with permalink to that journal.

Media Reserves Form

  • Media Reserves are not housed on the Library’s webpage but in the respective course’s Canvas. Access Services provides streaming media to Canvas via Sharestream and/or permalinks to licensed distributors.

  • The Library's first choice is to find media on an existing streaming site where access is free or already licensed by the library. See our Guide to Using Films in Courses (2. Streaming Video - Licensed Collections) for links to the Library's streaming collections.

  • Access will provide the faculty member with the permalink to the page on the Library website for that title. The permalink can be added to the course’s Canvas.
  • If no licensed stream is available Access will attempt to provide access to titles via Sharestream, a streaming service that uses DVDs to provide access. Sharestream can be viewed from the course’s Canvas page (please note - faculty need to enable Sharestream in Canvas for the titles to be viewable).
  • Should no licensed streaming option be available and the title’s DVD is coded to prevent streaming Access can help you arrange a group viewing of the media in one of our small group study rooms. We can also check out DVDs for the semester to faculty as needed. We can also place physical DVDs on over-the-counter reserve for students to borrow.
To expedite your request, please bring the reserve material when turning in the reserve form. Forms and materials can also be sent to reserves@georgetown.edu. Requests will be processed in the order received and may take 2 or more days. Telephone (202) 687-7607

Services for Teaching

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy