WHEN YOU HAVE A CITATION
To find an article when you have a citation (e.g. from a bibliography), you can search for the article title in Google Scholar, or search for the journal title in Journal Finder (search boxes at left).
If we don't subscribe to the journal, you can request a scanned copy of the article through Article Reach (try this first) or InterLibrary Loan.
SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES BY KEYWORD
To find articles on a particular topic, use an article index, a list of which can be found on the library’s homepage under Articles & Databases. To find relevant databases, use the "Databases by Specific Subject" column.
Your search will yield a list of citations to articles, and many will link right to the articles themselves online. Look for the "Full Text," "PDF" or “Find Full Text @G” links.
Indexes and abstracts worldwide economic literature. Has article citations from over 400 major economic journals since 1972. Includes indexing of some book reviews, dissertations and working papers.
- National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Working papers covering topics in macro and microeconomics, labor economics and welfare economics.
- Fed in Print
Index to all Federal Reserve Board and Banks' publications with selected full text in more recent years.
- RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
Database of economic working papers, journal articles and software components.
- SSRN's Economics Research Network (ERN)
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. (free to Econ and Business students, staff, and faculty)
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science
Cumulates four databases: Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975- ), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (2002- ), Science Citation Index Expanded (1970- ) and Social Sciences Citation Index (1970- ). In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years. For more recent articles, use one of the other indexes listed in this section.
- Google Scholar
Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, select Georgetown under Scholar Preferences/Library Links.)
- Project Muse
Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
ScienceDirect contains over 1,800 journals published by Elsevier. The full text of most journals is available to Georgetown users. ScienceDirect covers mainly science and medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities, particularly business, economics and psychology. You can browse or search in an individual journal or search across all journals.
- Social Sciences Full Text
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The aim of DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.
A multilingual, multidisciplinary database that covers journals, books, conference papers, and other materials in the humanities and social sciences. French language and literature is particularly strong.
- Academic Search Premier
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Proquest Research Library
Provides indexing, abstracting, and many full-text entries for over 2,800 scholarly and general-interest periodicals. Covers a very broad range of topics and sources.
Jennifer C. Boettcher
: by appointment in SummerSend Email
, Public Finance
, International Business
, Industry Research
, Company Research
- ABI/Inform Complete
Provides current and historic abstracts and many full-text articles from over 2,800 business and management journals, including hundreds of titles from outside the U.S. Covers finance, management, marketing, accounting, business conditions, and other business topics.
- Business Source Complete
Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data. Note: Number of simultaneous users is limited.