Corporation and business history in the U.S.
- Historical Sources
- @ Georgetown
- International Directory of Company Histories
Provides detailed information on the development of the world's most influential companies. To locate the company's main entry, consult the index in the last volume of the set. Index will refer you to the correct volume and page. Boldface numbers represent a main entry.
- Mergent WebReports
An archive of corporate reports from the Moodys and Mergent Corporate Manuals. Provides a comprehensive history of corporate America for almost 100 years, including corporate histories, financial statements, subsidiaries, long-term debt, officers and directors, and municipal debt. Users can search within and across manuals, by company name or manual year.
- Directory of Obsolete Securities
Brief profiles of banks and companies whose original identities have been lost through merger, acquisition, dissolution, bankruptcy, or name change since 1927. Each company listing indicates how the company became obsolete, the new name of the company (if any), and the date the action occurred. When possible, an indication is made if the stock still has some value.
- Directory of Corporate Archives
This edition includes companies that maintain their historical records themselves, as well as companies that contract with historical consulting firms to maintain their archives collections for them. Complete entries arranged alphabetically by name of corporation.
- Moody's Handbook of Common Stocks
Contains overview of publicly-traded stocks, includes 10 years statistical summary of performance, prospects for the company, and recent developments. Library holds winter editions between 1966 and 2001.
- Fortune 500
List of the most profitable public and private American companies, 1955-2005.
- Ad Access
U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
- Vintage Ad Browser
Thousands of historical ads.
- Moody's Dividend Record
Contains information on common and preferred dividend-paying stocks and mutual funds from 1965 to 1999. This source included information on cash and stock dividends, stock splits and rights issues for domestic and Canadian issues, as well as
significant global equities and American Depository Receipts.
- Global Financial Data
Global Financial Data is a source for historical stock market, financial, and economic data, some of which is unavailable from any other online source. The GFD Database includes over 8500 current and historical data series covering over 200 countries that have been collected from original sources. Many of the series extend back two centuries.
- Dow Jones Averages, 1885-1995
Hi, low, and close quotes given for industrial, transportation, and utility indexes.
- S&P 500 Components
Who was in the S&P 500 Index and span in the Index. For WRDS users only.
- Standard & Poor's Statistical Service
A compendium of current and historical statistics on the stock market and on U.S. economics in general. Includes monthly figures for interest rates, the composite index of leading indicators, cost of living indexes, and U. S. government securities. The "Current Statistics" section brings the other sections up-to-date on a monthly and annual basis.
- Common-Stock Indexes, 1871-1937
According to the author, the purpose of the study "is to portray the average experience of those investing in this class of security in the United States from 1871 to 1937."
These indexes relate to:
monthly stock price averages (SeriesP),
monthly stock price averages including cash dividends reinvested (Series C),
monthly yield expectations (Series Y),
annual actual yields (Series Ya),
annual dividend payments (Series Da),
annual earnings-price ratios (Series R),
and annual corporate earnings(Series E).
Appendix 1 presents a brief summary of various United States and foreign common-stock indexes.
- Equity-Gilt Study
Published by Barclays Bank Research Division, "The Equity Gilt Study has been published continuously since 1956, providing data, analysis and commentary on long-term asset returns in the UK and US. This publication provides a uniquely long and consistent database: the UK database goes back to 1899, while the US data – provided by the Centre for Research in Security Prices at the University of Chicago – begins in 1925."
- Mergent Archives Annual Report Collection
This growing database contains selective historical annual reports back to the late 1800s. Covering both US and foreign annuals reports, these color PDF sources present pictures of a company’s culture and historical priorities.
- Corporate Reports Online
Collection of Historical Annual Reports is a project of the Lippincott Library at the University of Pennsylvania. The Collection consists of annual reports in PDF format from U.S. companies, and covers the period 1800 through 1955.
- Columbia Historical Corporate Reports Online
Digitized Annual Reports from Columbia University's Watson Library's collection by subject, starting with 1863.
- Making of the Modern World
Collection of images of 61,000 of print materials on economics and business published from 1450 through 1914. Covers commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
- America's Historical Imprints
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.
- Wall Street Journal Historical
Complete, full text archive of the Wall Street Journal from its first issue on July 8, 1889 through 1991.
- Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006
Fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. Includes full-color images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables.
- Cross-national time-series data archive
The Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive is a longitudinal national data series and provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to the present for all countries with many variables of use to the social scientist researcher. General categories include demographic, social, political, and economic topics.