It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Petroleum and Mining - Booth Family Center for Special Collections
Arabian American Oil Company (ARAMCO) History Project
The Arabian American Oil Company known as ARAMCO carried out oil operations in Saudi Arabia under a concession agreement with that country's government. The company is owned by four major U.S. oil firms, Texaco, Inc.; Standard Oil of California; Standard Oil of New Jersey; and Socony Mobil. Papers of Mulligan: This archive is highly significant for the history of ARAMCO in Saudi Arabia during the period 1946 to 1978. Click below for specific collections
Robert P. Miller Robert P. Miller was one of the first Americans to enter Saudi Arabia to explore that nation's rich oil resources in the 1930s. As an employee of the California Arabia Standard Oil Company (CASOC), Miller took part in establishing the oil industry in Saudi Arabia from its earliest days. CASOC was the precursor of the Arabian American Oil Company (ARAMCO). The Papers include correspondence to and from Miller and noted individuals, such as G.C. Gester, Lloyd N. Hamilton, Bill Lenahan, J.O. Nomland, H. St. John Philby, and R.C. Stoner and 30 black-and-white photographs dating between 1933 and 1935 depicting life in Saudi Arabia and CASOC's activities. 1932-1948
William E. Mulligan Printed materials relating to Mulligan's career in the Government Affairs Department of Aramco (the Arabian American Oil Company) from 1946 to 1978. The William E. Mulligan Papers contain source materials on the early years of Aramco and many of the most prominent Western figures in Arabia at the time. Included are manuscripts and correspondence of George S. Rentz, H. St. John B. Philby, Thomas C. Barger, Dame Violet Dickson, David S. Dodge, and Parker T. Hart. Also included is an immense amount of biographical materials on Saudi government officials and business people including members of the Royal Family, Shaikh Ahmad Zaki Yamani, Suliman S. Olayan, 'Adnan M. Kashoggi, and many others. 1930-1992
Bert Seal The collection consists of 94 photographs taken in Saudi Arabia between the years of 1955 and 1960. The photos have been left in their original order as they were received from Bert Seal, ARAMCO Public Relations Department Photographer.photographs from other people associated the ARAMCO.
Papers of Joseph A. Mohan: concerning ARAMCO administration and management, employee recruitment and training, community development, as well as oil production and the waterfront development of Ras Tanura, 1957-1986.
Dorothy Miller Dorothy Miller arrived in Saudi Arabia in 1947 to work in the law department of the oil company Aramco. Miller returned to Aramco in 1967 as treasurer. Her passion for photography unabated, she continued to take hundreds of stunning photographs ranging from Aramco staff and facilities to the people and countryside of Saudi Arabia. Locations depicted include Abquaiq, al-Khobar, Dhahran, Dammam, Hofuf, and Qatif. Miller retired from Aramco and returned to the U.S. in 1977.
The papers contains technical reports and files from James H. Critchfield's (1917-2003) consulting firm Tetra Tech International regarding its work developing the oil, natural gas, water, and mineral industries in Oman. The reports trace the relationship between Tetra Tech and the Omani government.
C.F. Chase was an American ore mining engineer in Suan, Korea in the early 1900s. The papers consist of a ledger covering the financial side of Chase's life in Korea, and it shows the firms with which he transacted business. The unbound letters mostly concern an adoption case. The photographs are of Korean women. The collection, a glimpse into U.S.- Korean relations in the first decade of the twentieth century. 1900-1910.
The Booth Family Center for Special Collections in the Georgetown University Library holds a number of manuscripts collections about the history of the Panama Canal. Our Panama Canal collections are listed below with links to the finding aid for each collection. Papers regarding economic activities in Panama from railroads to canals, 1848-1980. Covering gold rush, civil war, guilded age, western expansion, and international business.
Collection consists of a wide assortment of materials pertaining to railroads, principally in the United States. Included are train schedules and time tables, printed promotional material, published manufacturer's brochures and catalogues, stock certificates, maps, photographs, and a variety of printed and other types of ephemera. 1840-1965
Images consists of hand-written records of Huie, Reed and Co., merchants of Dumfries, Virginia, 1787-1788, with material on Washington-area trade. Huie, Reid, and Company was a merchant firm trading in tobacco, sugar, salt, and other commodities.
Document the business activities of Robert Fergusson (d. 1813), a tobacco factor (wholesaler) operating in Port Tobacco, Maryland. Fergusson's papers provide significant primary source material on the Potomac River tobacco trade of the late 1700s and early 1800s. 1717-1810.
The collection includes both incoming and outgoing correspondence of Fergusson. Alexander Hamilton (d. 1799), a tobacco factor in Piscataway, Maryland, is a principal correspondent. Other correspondents include Dumfries [Virginia] merchants George Gray and Alexander Henderson, James Brown & Company of Glasgow [Scotland], and others. John Glassford & Company, a firm for which Fergusson worked for a time, is mentioned several times in Fergusson's letters.
E. E. Libbey was a dealer in pulpwood, cedar posts, white birch, and hemlock bark in Pittsfield, Maine. These records provide a glimpse into Maine's bustling turn-of-the century timber and pulpwood industries. Libbey bought and sold various types of wood. His correspondents included individuals from all over the state of Maine and parts of New Hampshire, Vermont, and Massachusetts. The highlight of the collection is found in receipts and letters between Libbey and prominent pulp and paper companies: S. D. Warren & Company, which operated a papermill at Cumberland Mills, Maine; International Paper Company; Great Northern Paper Company; Maine Central Railroad; Boston & Maine Railroad; Bangor & Aroostook Railroad; Estate of Charles Forster; New England Telephone & Telegraph Company; Skowhegan Pulp Company; United Box Board and Paper Company; among others. 1900-1912