Guides: Art, Art History & Museum Studies: Buddhist Art

Background Information

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Combines essays and works of art with a timeline to situate art and global culture.
Himalayan Art Resources
"The mission of the Himalayan Art Resources website (HAR) is to create a comprehensive education and research database and virtual museum of Himalayan art."
A-to-Z Photo Dictionary of Japanese Religious Sculpture & Art
Images and information about Japanese religious sculpture and art.

General

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, click on Settings and then on Library Links. Type Georgetown in the search box.)

Asian Studies

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
References western-language books, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften on all parts of Asia. Allows browsing by subject, journal title, or by country/region or search by topic. Covers the social sciences as well as the humanities.

History

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Primary index to materials for research in non-U.S./non-Canadian history, including social and cultural history. Includes abstracts (summaries) of journal articles. Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of scholarship drawn from Medieval and Renaissance books, dissertations, and journal materials (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies). Covers the years 400 to 1700. Indexes publications from the mid-1800's to the present.

Religion

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s full text collection of 350+ major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by American Theological Library Association, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology.
Indexes a fairly comprehensive list of religion periodicals with extensive coverage of essay collections and Festschriften. Covers biblical commentary, mission activity, and topics in religion and theology. The database represents the following print sources: Religion Index 1 - Periodicals, 1949-present; Religion Index 2 -Multi-author works, 1960-present; Research in Ministry, 1981-present; Index to Book Reviews in Religion, 1949-present; Methodist Reviews Index, 1818-1985. This collection now includes content from Catholic Periodical and Literature Index

Literature, Film, Folklore

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.

Asian History
by Ding Ye Last Updated Nov 21, 2024 372 views this year
Asian Religions
by Ding Ye Last Updated Aug 7, 2024 221 views this year
Film & Media Studies
by Melissa Jones Last Updated Apr 11, 2025 1668 views this year
Chinese Studies
by Ding Ye Last Updated Apr 1, 2025 762 views this year
Japanese Studies
by Ding Ye Last Updated Nov 21, 2024 591 views this year
Korean Studies
by Ding Ye Last Updated Aug 7, 2024 288 views this year

Global Medieval Studies
by Melissa Jones Last Updated Dec 10, 2024 389 views this year