Citing Sources
The primary reasons for citing sources in a research paper are to give credit to the authors whose work you have drawn upon and to allow readers to track down your sources, should they wish to do so.
Check the syllabus for your course or ask your professor which citation style to follow.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new windowElectronic version of one of the most used style guides for writing in American English. Provides rules and suggestions for bibliographies and other forms of documentation such as parenthetical references, footnotes, and endnotes. Includes instructions on how to cite electronic and online sources. Also contains a chapter on grammar and usage (punctuation, spelling, etc.).
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by
The best-selling guide to writing about art Sylvan Barnet's A Short Guide to Writing About Art guides students through every aspect of writing about art. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing. Coverage of essential writing assignments includes formal analysis, comparison, research paper, review of an exhibition, and essay examination. New to the 11th edition is a chapter on "Virtual Exhibitions: Writing Text Panels and Other Materials."
Call Number: Ref Stacks N 7476 .B37 2015
- Purdue's OWLPurdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab) provides guides to MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, as well as advice on research, writing and citation.
Art Bulletin - Style Guidelines
- Art BulletinThe Art Bulletin follows the Chicago Manual of Style; however, these guidelines include information on writing captions for art works.
Citation Managers
- RefWorks This link opens in a new windowRefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers gather, manage, store, and share information and generate citations and bibliographies.
- ZoteroZotero is a free tool designed to help you gather, manage and share information about books, articles, web pages and other digital objects that you are using in your research, and to generate citations and bibliographies. Zotero is a Mozilla browser plugin. You can choose to gather your data on your hard drive (if you are working mainly from one computer), or on a flash drive or a network (if you frequently access your data at multiple workstations).
- MendeleyMendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. You can automatically generate bibliographies, collaborate with other researchers online, import papers from other research software, find relevant papers based on what you’re reading, and access your papers from anywhere online.
