Japanese Studies

References western-language books, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften on all parts of Asia. Allows browsing by subject, journal title, or by country/region or search by topic. Covers the social sciences as well as the humanities.

Digitized issues of Contemporary Japan: A Review of Far Eastern Affairs from 1932 to 1970. The journal contains English translations of important speeches by Japanese authors, political figures, and other leaders of Japanese society.

The largest and earliest English-language national newspaper published in Japan covering both the country and the world. Digital archive covers from 1865-1866 and 1897 to the present. Also includes the archive of the Japan Advertiser (1913-1940), which merged with the Japan Times in 1940.

Compiled by the publisher Koseisha, this database indexes Japanese periodical articles for the period of 1868 to the present. It also includes locally published journals from 1948 to the present not indexed by the National Diet Library of Japan. The contents of the Koseisha database are regularly updated.

Limited to 4 concurrent users.

JapanKnowledge Lib is an online web archive that boasts the largest corpus of encyclopedia, dictionaries, reference compilations, and periodical resources (approximately 50 different sources) in Japan.

Limited to 1 concurrent user. Includes Yomiuri shinbun 1874 to the present: image format from 1874 to 1989; full text 1986 to the present, along with the English edition: the Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present), both searchable by article, keyword, subject category, and issue. Charts and photographs are not included. Also includes biographical information on 26,000 people.