Guides: Global Medieval Studies: Start Your Research

Welcome!

Welcome to the Global Medieval Studies research guide. This guide is intended to highlight major resources that Georgetown provides to support research and teaching in medieval studies. Use the menu to the left to view specific types of resources.

If you have any questions or need assistance with your research, please e-mail the Medieval Studies Librarian at melissa.jones@georgetown.edu.

Getting Started

The following resources are recommended for starting your global medieval studies research. Additional resources are available through the left-hand menu.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields. Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of scholarship drawn from Medieval and Renaissance books, dissertations, and journal materials (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies). Covers the years 400 to 1700. Indexes publications from the mid-1800's to the present.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles published in journals and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published worldwide. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 400 to 1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Medieval Studies This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliography of scholarship in Medieval Studies and related topics.

Generative AI Tools

For information on using generative AI resources like ChatGPT and Elicit in your research, visit our Research Guide for tips on crafting prompts, citing AI tools, and using AI tools ethically.