Skip to main content
Good Blogs for Contemporary Art & Criticism
PBS mega-site on contemporary art. Features video interviews with artists, a critical blog, and a encyclopedia of artists and related information.
A "channel" combining video content from major museums. Allows browsing by art period & style; medium; and museum. Hosted by Indianapolis Museum of Art.
Serious + playful art commentary.
Contemporary Art Blogs
A Tumblr mash-up of contemporary art blogs. This site is all over the place, but will expose you to the many facets of the contemporary art world.
These online resources are recommend from The Art of Mesoamerica, fifth edition (2012), by Mary Ellen Miller.
Modern British Art Resources
Yale Center for British Art
The Yale Center for British Art is a public art museum and research institute for the study of British art and culture. The Center houses the largest collection of British art outside the United Kingdom.
National collection of British art from 1500 to the present day. Tate is a leading centre for research in visual art, collection care, learning and museum studies.
Major London gallery for modern and contemporary British art. Whitechapel has hosted crticial 20th century shows such as This is Tomorrow (1956).
The Turner Prize is a contemporary art award that was set up in 1984 to celebrate new developments in contemporary art. Annually four shortlisted artists present works in a show normally held at Tate Britain.
Archives of American Art
The Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to sources that document the history of the visual arts in America. Its website includes interviews, digitized materials, and images.
Art History Resources on the Web
Compiled by Chris Witcombe (Professor of Art history, Sweet Briar College). This gateway offers extensive links to Websites organized under 12 broad topics. Eight of the topic areas provide chronological coverage from prehistory to art of the 20th Century. The remaining areas cover Prints and Photography, Non-European art, Research Resources, and Museums and Galleries.
Starting point which links images from many authoritative sites, often to museums and exhibition sites. Also offers browsing by Artist, Movement, Medium, Subject, and Nationality; includes a directory of world museums.
Features a collection of resources on art, presented by the ArtNet Worldwide Corporation. Includes categories such as art and antiques, artists, auctions, magazines, and books. Offers access to images. Contains a site search engine. The Price Database is limited to Georgetown University students, faculty, and staff only. Ask at the Reference Desk for user name and password.
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Institute has just launched the Getty Research Portal, an unprecedented resource that will provide broad, free access to digitized texts in the field of art and architectural history.
Getty Publications Virtual Library
Free digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archives
New York Art Resources
A portal to resources from three New York City art museum research libraries: The Brooklyn Museum, the Frick Collection, and the Museum of Modern Art. Search their combined library collection catalog, Arcade, and digital collections such as the Frick Digital Image Archive.
Smarthistory is a Western art history website containing videos of famous works of art narrated by artists, critics, and art historians. Search by time, style, artist, or themes.
Voice of the Shuttle
Provides links to a variety of resources available on the Web. Choose categories like Architecture, Art (Modern and Contemporary), Art History, and Photography.
Wellcome Library - Collections
Browse the History of Medicine and Medical collections or the Digitized content."The Library's digital collections cover a wide variety of topics, including asylums, food, sex and sexual health, genetics, public health and war."