Online Encyclopedias and Chronology
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowThe definitive reference source to Western Art, formerly known as the Grove Dictionary of Art. Scholarly bibliographies provided for each entry.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryCombines essays and works of art with a timeline to situate art and global culture.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles from all of our electronic encyclopedias. Great for interdisciplinary topics.
Find additional encyclopedias by searching within HoyaSearch for [topic] + encyclopedias. For example,
disease + encyclopedias--> Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease
Additional Art Reference Books
Encyclopedia of AestheticsPublication Date: 2d ed., 2014Surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society--from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. Included in Oxford Art Online.
Encyclopedia of Comparative IconographyCall Number: Ref. N 7560 .E53 1998Studying a theme in a work of art? ECI compares the uses of iconographic themes from mythology, sacred texts, literature, and popular culture in works of art.
The Encyclopedia of SculptureCall Number: Ref. NB 198 .E53 2004Entries cover the full history of sculpture, including works, styles, periods, materials, themes, etc. Includes bibliographic citations for further research!
Directories
- American Art DirectoryRef. N 50 .A54 Regional listing of museums, organizations, associations, and libraries in the United States and Canada. Also provides information about art schools in the U.S., Canada, and abroad, and additional information on topics like fellowships, art magazines, and state art councils.
- Index to American Photographic CollectionsOff Campus Access TR 12 .E85 1996 A comprehensive index to photographers and photography collections. Limited access to a digitized version is available via Internet Archive.
- Official Museum DirectoryRef. AM 11 .O3 A directory of museums in the United States and Canada.
- Resources for Biographical InformationResearch guide for biography.
Guides to Research
- Guide to the Literature of Art History 2Ref. Z 5931 .M374 2005 Lists and annotates the best art and architecture books and journals published worldwide in the last two decades of the twentieth century.
- Getty Research GuidesLibrarians, scholars, and curators provide topical overviews of Research Institute collections and specialized areas of research.
- Art Law Research Guide (Georgetown Univ. Law Library)Resources for researching legal topics relating to art including intellectual property, museums, art sales, and historic preservation.
