Asia Studies & Linguistics Bibliographer
Ding Ye
Contact:
Georgetown University Lauinger
Department of Library Research Services
37th & O Streets, NW
Washington DC, 20057
research-library@georgetown.edu
Department of Library Research Services
37th & O Streets, NW
Washington DC, 20057
research-library@georgetown.edu
202-687-7609
Subjects: Asian Studies, Linguistics
Database Trial
- The History of Contemporary Chinese Political MovementsThis database collects primary source materials, including government documents, directives, bulletins, proclamations, speeches, commentaries, and newspaper and magazine editorials, on four major political movements in China in the 20th century:
-Political Campaigns in the 1950s: From Land Reform to State-Private Partnership (1949-56)
-The Anti-Rightist Campaign (1957-)
-The Great Leap Forward and Great Famine (1958-62)
-The Cultural Revolution (1966-76)
Our trial expires October 31, 2024. Comments may be sent to Ding Ye or libers@georgetown.edu.
Best Bets
- Open Database Resource GuideThe ACLS China Mapping has published a new resource guide for freely available China Studies Resources on the web
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowReferences western-language books, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften on all parts of Asia. Allows browsing by subject, journal title, or by country/region or search by topic. Covers the social sciences as well as the humanities.
- CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure) This link opens in a new windowEnglish Interface
Simplified Chinese Interface
CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure) is an all-rounded access to resources in Chinese language. See information icon for full database description. - Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services This link opens in a new windowTEPS offers full text (PDF) for periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social science.
- Dacheng This link opens in a new windowDacheng (大成老旧刊) provides full-text access to over 140,000 issues in nearly 7,000 periodicals published before 1949. The database is a rich resource to researches in modern Chinese history, literature, politics, law, sociology and economics.
- Duxiu This link opens in a new window读秀 is an aggregated search engine created by SuperStar Digital Library. It searches journals, newspapers, conference proceedings and books, and yields relevant pages for reading.
Open Access Sources
- Late Qing and Republican Era Chinese NewspapersThe Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
Chinese Programs at Georgetown
- Georgetown and ChinaThis site presents Georgetown University's programs and resources related to the Greater China area. It also provides anecdotes from Georgetown's archives and a list of current events at Georgetown on China. Finally, the site offers opportunities for members of the Georgetown community to get involved in university programs on China.
