Archives of American ArtThe Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to sources that document the history of the visual arts in America. Its website includes interviews, digitized materials, and images.
Series of reproductions of exhibition catalogues from venues important to modern art, such as World's Fairs and French Salons. Search in GEORGE and other library catalogs by the title, Modern Art in Paris.
Includes abstracts for doctoral dissertations beginning July 1980 and for Master's theses beginning Spring 1988. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts. Citations for Master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Most dissertations published since 1997, and some from prior years, are available for free download; others may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
The 45,000 articles of the print version of the Grove Dictionary of Art are accessible with added searching capability, additional context and authority of links to museums and other collections that may offer more information about the piece, the artist, and related works. Searches can be done by article heading, full text, contributor, caption, or combinations of these using concept, pattern, boolean and expert options. In addition, researchers may choose the Bridgeman Art Library from the main page to search a database of more than 100,000 images. In 2008, this resource expanded to include The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy