Marketing

U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.

The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s

Provides advertising expenditure data for political campaigns, brands, and product categories. Continued by Ad$pender.
Georgetown has the print collection 1999-2006. In PDF for in Box 2014-2016

Focusing on European print ads, this contains historical and current images. Registration is free, but commercial use of material will cost.

Arranged by companies, the print source describes major campaigns: Burma-Shave Road Sings, Bud Bowl, Crying Indian, Virginia is for Lovers, etc. Etc. Each entry includes an overview, historical context, target market, competition, marketing strategy, outcome, and a further reading lists. Current to 2000.

The Medicine and Madison Avenue Project presents images and database information for approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. These ads illustrate the variety and evolution of marketing images from the 1910s through the 1950s. The collection represents a wide range of products such as cough and cold remedies, laxatives and indigestion aids, and vitamins and tonics, among others.

Library of Congress collections reflecting:
Broadsides and Printed Ephemera ~ ca. 1600-2000
Coca-Cola Advertising ~ Films ~ 1951-1999
Prosperity and Thrift ~ 1921-1929
Edison Companies ~ Film and Sound Recordings
Posters, WPA ~ 1936-1943

Presents images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials, drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University, provide a significant and informative perspectives illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry.

Funded by GLAAD and formally called Commercial Closet. "the AdRespect archive contains over 4,000 LGBT themed ads from around the world going back to 1917, exploring the range of representations of gender and sexuality in print and television advertising. The material represents the best and worst of Madison Avenue's commercial messages, and everything in between."