For more information contact Mara Rojeski at 202 687-2822. The ArcView Geographic Information System (GIS) is a powerful desktop mapping software program for managing information and data of any kind based on location. This decision-making tool allows users to visualize information and data in new ways to reveal relationships, patterns and trends, and to create customized maps based on that analysis.
Users can supply their own data, make use of datasets available in the Gelardin New Media Center, or utilize data that accompany the ArcView software. Gelardin has two work stations with ArcView GIS software installed and a color printer for printing maps. ArcView GIS software may also be borrowed from the Government Documents Department for installation on any Georgetown University-owned computer.
Data from the U.S. Census Bureau, including the Census of Population and Housing, the Economic Census, and the American Community Survey.
Population topics include aging, disability, education, gender, employment, origins and languages, poverty, race and ethnicity, relationships, transportation and veterans. Housing information includes physical and financial characteristics. The Economic Census includes statistics on business and industry, foreign trade and government.
Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide
Rand McNally's annual atlas with statistics identifies population size, population trends, hospitals, schools, prisons, and basic business data for counties. 1998-
Allows users to explore U.S. buying habits based on demographics, psychographics, media preferences and other criteria. An extension of Simmons Survey of Media and Markets National Consumer Study, the marketing data were collected from more than 22,000 households, then projected to reflect the general population.
The Twelve Federal Reserve Districts are Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Cleveland, Richmond, Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, Minneapolis, Kansas City, Dallas, and San Francisco. Select one the relevant Districts, most of the Districts will include regional economic data and analysis.
Type in ZIP code or City Name or County Name to see Population and other information.
Population topics include aging, disability, education, gender, employment, origins and languages, poverty, race and ethnicity, relationships, transportation and veterans. Housing information includes physical and financial characteristics. The Economic Census includes statistics on business and industry, foreign trade and government.
A vast collection of US and international statistics in Sage Data. Allows you to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including, business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, energy, housing and construction as well as labor and employment. Dataplanet also incorporates all of the content previously available in Sage Stats.
formerly Global Market Information DatabaseGlobal in scope, Euromonitor's Passport provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts. Details include expenditure patterns, viewing time per medium and demographics. Use the search box in the upper left corner to find an industry.
Created from the Library of Congress's Business Reference Section, "This guide includes books and other resources that discuss marketing to particular segments of the population along with other sources that are important in determining the size and power of a particular market segment. Also included are statistical books and other sources whose main focus is on a specific generational, ethnic or other group."
Funded by GLAAD and formally called Commercial Closet. "the AdRespect archive contains over 4,000 LGBT themed ads from around the world going back to 1917, exploring the range of representations of gender and sexuality in print and television advertising. The material represents the best and worst of Madison Avenue's commercial messages, and everything in between."
Examine state and county topics for individual census years: 1790-1960. Categories include general population, ethnicity/race/place of birth, education & literacy, agriculture, economy/manufacturing/employment, and slave population. Download data or create a map
Lifestyle Market Analyst
US Demographic and geographic data, including lifestyle information on interests, hobbies, and activities. 1998-2008
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy