Guides: Marketing: Media & Advertising

Advertising

MRI-Simmons Catalyst
Limited to 10 concurrent users.

Allows users to explore U.S. buying habits based on demographics, psychographics, media preferences and other criteria. An extension of Simmons Survey of Media and Markets National Consumer Study, the marketing data were collected from more than 22,000 households, then projected to reflect the general population.
Vivvix
Vivvix (formerly Advertising Insights and Ad$pender) provides advertising expenditure data for political campaigns, over 100,000 brands, and product categories. The 18 media formats include cable, internet, network TV (network, spot and syndicated), broadcast radio (network and national spot radio), outdoor advertising, major national newspapers and hundreds of business-to-business and consumer magazines.

Data can be retrieved by brand, product class/category, company name, etc. Data are available monthly, quarterly and annually for the past five years.
Vivvix Help Guides (PDFs in Box)
Ad Age

Free registration required with GU email account. Ad Age has news, data, trends, videos, podcasts and more on advertising and advertisers.
1. Go to AdAge and (in upper right corner) click Register for Free
2. Create an AdAge account using your georgetown.edu email address.
3. After completing setup, your account should be linked to the GU group access.
Adforum
Provides access to over 35,000 advertisements in all media: TV, radio, cinema, Internet, print and outdoor ad campaigns. Also includes over 18,000 advertising agency sources, news and other information related to the advertising industry. Users can search for ads by keyword, media type, product, brand name, business sector, agency, country, celebrity or award.

Online Media Directories

Greenbook:- Worldwide Directory of Marketing Research Companies and Services
The GreenBook website features the entire directory in a user-friendly and interactive format. Company listings include contact information, detailed company/facility profile, website, email, key personnel, industry affiliations, special products and services, and branch office locations.

Print Directories

Advertising Red Books
Call Number: LAU Ref. HF5805.S7

Provide competitive intelligence and prospecting data on advertising agencies and advertisers. The advertiser directory contains information on U.S. and international advertisers who spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. The agency directory contains detailed profiles of U.S. and international agencies, including accounts represented by each agency, fields of specialization, and more.
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
Call Number: LAU Ref. Z6951.A97

An annual guide to publications and broadcasting stations, including newspapers, magazines, journals, radio stations, television stations, and cable systems.
IGG Sponsorship Sourcebook
Call Number: LAU Ref. GT3930.O38

A listing of U.S. and international opportunities for corporate sponsorship of events. Includes a sponsor index (who sponsors what), list of most active sponsors, and sponsorshop opportunities by category, location, month, attendance, and budget.
Bacon's Directories
Call Number: call numbers vary

Includes Bacon's Newspaper, Magazine, Internet Media, Radio, and TV/Cable Directories. Especially useful for public relations and advertising professionals compiling media contact lists for news releases, advertising, etc. Includes information on circulation, ad rates, target audience, contact information, etc. For online access, see CisionPoint (login information available from reference desk).
Willing's Press Guide
Call Number: LAU Ref. Z6956.E5 W5

Directory of worldwide media, updated yearly. Vol. 1: U.K; Vol. 2: Western Europe; Vol. 3: World. Includes titles index; classified periodicals index; newspaper index; print media A-Z, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals; publishers and their titles; advertising reps and media consultants; and broadcast and other media.