The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Starting with the 2017 Economic Census, the NAPCS will be used instead of Product Line. "The North American Product Classification System (NAPCS) is a comprehensive, market- or demand-based, hierarchical classification system for products (goods and services) that (a) is not industry-of-origin based but can be linked to the NAICS industry structure, (b) is consistent across the three North American countries, and (c) promotes improvements in the identification and classification of service products across international classification systems, such as the Central Product Classification System of the United Nations"
Investext from Mergent is a database of research reports by brokerage firms and analysts. The resource provides access to research reports on 42,000 global companies and 125 industries. Reports are embargoed for 14 days after publication.
Industry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
US Industry Reports (NAICS)
US Industry iExpert Summaries
US Business Environment Profiles
IBISWorld publishes many other reports that are not part of the Library's subscription. For more information, please Ask A Librarian.
Users must create a free Mintel account in order to download executive summaries create custom PowerPoint slides of report content.These market research reports of 100+ pages in length cover such subjects as travel, finance, food, drink, health, retailing, airlines, and lifestyles. Reports cover the United States - reports on internationally-focused reports are not available. Data sources used come from Mintel's own surveys, Simmons, Infoscan's IRI, and trade research. Acceptance of 'Academic Conditions of Use' and registration are required to use this database.
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Additional full text, non-journal content includes case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, and conference proceedings. Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Titles include Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review and Administrative Science Quarterly.
Allows users to explore U.S. buying habits based on demographics, psychographics, media preferences and other criteria. An extension of Simmons Survey of Media and Markets National Consumer Study, the marketing data were collected from more than 22,000 households, then projected to reflect the general population.
The industries covered are Accommodations and Food Services (72); Retail Trade (44-45); Wholesale Trade (42); Information (51); Professional Services (54); Headquarters (55); Administrative and Waste Management Services (56); For-Profit Educational Services (61); Healthcare and Social Services (62); Arts and Recreation Services (71); and Other Services (81)
For example, in online stores what is the percentage of different products sold, i.e. **% computer equipment and **% preparckaged software. OR who sells more computer equipment , i.e. Computer stores **% or online establishments **%.
formerly Global Market Information DatabaseGlobal in scope, Euromonitor's Passport provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts. Details include expenditure patterns, viewing time per medium and demographics. Use the search box in the upper left corner to find an industry.
Users must create a free Mintel account in order to download executive summaries create custom PowerPoint slides of report content.These market research reports of 100+ pages in length cover such subjects as travel, finance, food, drink, health, retailing, airlines, and lifestyles. Reports cover the United States - reports on internationally-focused reports are not available. Data sources used come from Mintel's own surveys, Simmons, Infoscan's IRI, and trade research. Acceptance of 'Academic Conditions of Use' and registration are required to use this database.
Netherlands Marketing company that uses 8,000+ trend spotters scan the globe for emerging consumer trends. Resulting in free Trends Briefing monthly. Briefings are varied in scope and illustrated with photos of relevant examples. There is a also a index that goes back to 2008. Signing up the Trends Briefing is free, other materials from this website are fee-based.
International Data Corporation (IDC) provides market intelligence, advisory services, and current commentary on the information technology, telecommunications, and consumer technology markets. The IDC database contains market forecasts, industry analyses, case studies, vendor decision toolkits, and blog posts from over 1,000 IDC expert analysts. IDC’s scope is global in nature and features information on major multinational technology companies. IDC also offers decision making strategies for both technology suppliers and technology buyers.
Full text of current market research and industry news covering all facets of the sports industry, including sports equipment sales, participation, broadcasting, sponsorship and marketing.
Data comes from National Sporting Goods Association, U.S. Department of Commerce, various sports governing bodies, newsletters, and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by Miller Freeman. SBRnet also has buyTRACK, by Harris Interactive, a tracking study of sporting goods purchasing habits on the Internet.
Provides information on information technology industries (software, hardware, e-commerce, publishing, telecommunications and services), including market research and trends analysis, glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy