Business Information Consultant (BIC)
Jennifer Boettcher
Her/She
Contact:
202 687-7495 Website Skype Contact: gu.buslib
Office Hours: by appointment and every Mon-Fri on Chat
202 687-7495
New
Click on the HoyaSearch image to go to the catalog and add your industry name to a new line, i.e. subject contains:: industry and Any field contains: petroleum
Overviews
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
- S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowThe Industry Surveys are the best place to start your industry research. Basic global analysis and overview of major industries with many subject breakdowns within each industry. Statistical information includes sales, profit margin, P/E ratios, and capital expenditures. Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage also provides additional company and industry information.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIBISWorld publishes many other reports that are not part of the Library's subscription. For more information, please Ask A Librarian.
Industry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
- US Industry Reports (NAICS)
- US Industry iExpert Summaries
- Australia Specialized Industry Reports
- Business Environment Profiles
- Specialized Industry Collection
- State Industry Reports
- State Economic Profiles
- FitchConnect This link opens in a new windowFitchConnect integrates country risk, analysis of financial markets, and industry research, providing users with a variety of company and industry information including credit research, credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, Financial Implied Ratings, and a curated news service.
- Industry Snapshots"Key Economic Census data for all industries and geographic areas are available in a consolidated file."
- SBDCnet's Small Business SnapshotsThe Small Business Development Center's Network is a service to assist consultants working with entrepreneurs. These reports contain some of their wisdom and suggested sources to go deeper.
- Investext Full from Mergent This link opens in a new windowInvestext from Mergent is a database of research reports by brokerage firms and analysts. The resource provides access to research reports on 42,000 global companies and 125 industries. Reports are embargoed for 14 days after publication.
- Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new windowComplete PDF images of the following titles: The Value Line Investment Survey online Standard Edition, The Value Line Investment Survey online Plus Edition, The Value Line Investment Survey online Small and Mid-Cap Edition, The Value Line Mutual Fund Survey, The Value Line No-Load Advisor, The Value Line Insight, The Value Line Daily Options Survey, The Value Line 600, The Value Line Special Situations Service, The Value Line Convertibles Survey.
U.S. Market Research (Products) Reports
- Passport This link opens in a new windowformerly Global Market Information DatabaseGlobal in scope, Euromonitor's Passport provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts. Details include expenditure patterns, viewing time per medium and demographics. Use the search box in the upper left corner to find an industry.
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowUsers must create a free Mintel account in order to download executive summaries or create custom PowerPoint slides of report content.These market research reports of 100+ pages in length cover such subjects as travel, finance, food, drink, health, retailing, airlines, and lifestyles. Reports cover the United States - reports on internationally-focused reports are not available. Data sources used come from Mintel's own surveys, Simmons, Infoscan's IRI, and trade research. Acceptance of 'Academic Conditions of Use' and registration are required to use this database.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Additional full text, non-journal content includes case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, and conference proceedings. Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIBISWorld publishes many other reports that are not part of the Library's subscription. For more information, please Ask A Librarian.
Industry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
- US Industry Reports (NAICS)
- US Industry iExpert Summaries
- Australia Specialized Industry Reports
- Business Environment Profiles
- Specialized Industry Collection
- State Industry Reports
- State Economic Profiles
Going Deeper
- Encyclopedia of Business Information SourcesThis guide identifies yearbooks, directories, manuals, encyclopedias, periodicals, and statistics, for over 1100 business-related topics and industries.
- American Society of Association Executives DirectoryASAE represents a membership organization association executives and industry partners representing more than 11,000 organizations. Our members manage leading trade associations, individual membership societies and voluntary organizations.
- Trade Show News NetworkInternational directory of trade shows. Once you link into a trade show review exhibitors for competition and talks for trends and experts. Older shows may have more detail on pass topics.
- Career Guides to IndustriesThe Career Guide to Industries provides information on the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook, and lists of organizations that can provide additional information.
