Guides: Industries: Foreign Statistical Data

International Marketing (Product) Research Reports

Passport This link opens in a new window
formerly Global Market Information Database
Global in scope, Euromonitor's Passport provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts. Details include expenditure patterns, viewing time per medium and demographics. Use the search box in the upper left corner to find an industry.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Users must create a free Mintel account in order to download executive summaries or create custom PowerPoint slides of report content.
These market research reports of 100+ pages in length cover such subjects as travel, finance, food, drink, health, retailing, airlines, and lifestyles. Reports cover the United States - reports on internationally-focused reports are not available. Data sources used come from Mintel's own surveys, Simmons, Infoscan's IRI, and trade research. Acceptance of 'Academic Conditions of Use' and registration are required to use this database.

WDI Online This link opens in a new window
Comparable data collected by the World Bank to measure development outcomes. The World Bank's principal data source on the global economy. More than 550 time series, 1960-present, on more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

International Financial Statistics (IFS)
This International Monetary Fund source provides current and historical financial information on member countries. Includes exchange rates, inflation and deflation, government finance, balance of payments, money and banking, and national income accounts. International Financial Statistics Yearbooks (1979 - ) are in LAU Stacks at HG 3881.I6262 (latest year at reference desk). Monthly print editions in Ref. HG 3881.I626.
OECD Economic Outlook
Each semi-annual issue provides an assessment of the current economic situation in OECD countries and certain others, as well as trends and projections. Includes an overview of developments in each OECD-member country. Issues from 1967 on 2nd floor.

OECD.Stat This link opens in a new window
OECD.Stat, a feature of SourceOECD, contains quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in OECD member countries, the most highly industrialised in the world. Topics include general economic indicators, development and aid, agriculture, national accounts, labor market and social issues, foreign trade, and industry, science and technology.

Country Statistical Agencies
This UN site offers links to the the government statistical agencies for individual countries. Such sites may include the latest statistics on economic indicators and categories relevant to a particular country. Not every country has a government Web site. Lauinger Library also has statistical handbooks for selected countries. The most current ones are in Reference, with older volumes on the 4th Floor, call number ranges from HA1171 to HA4631.
International Yearbook of Industrial Statistics
Using ISIC, rev. 3, this book arranges manufacturing activities by products and countries. The key information for each industry sector is value added per employees, wages and salaries per employee, percentage cost of input materials and utilities, percentage costs of labor, and percentage operating surplus.
more...less...
Ref. HC 10 .I673

UNCTAD Commodity Price Bulletin
The full series of monthly and annual presents average prices of food, raw materials, metals, and exchange rates commodities, in current dollars.