Guides: Industries: U.S. Statistical Data

U.S. Market Research (Products) Reports

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
- US Industry Reports (NAICS)
- US Industry iExpert Summaries
- US Business Environment Profiles
IBISWorld publishes many other reports that are not part of the Library's subscription. For more information, please Ask A Librarian.
MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
Limited to 10 concurrent users.

Allows users to explore U.S. buying habits based on demographics, psychographics, media preferences and other criteria. An extension of Simmons Survey of Media and Markets National Consumer Study, the marketing data were collected from more than 22,000 households, then projected to reflect the general population.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Users must create a free Mintel account in order to download executive summaries create custom PowerPoint slides of report content.
These market research reports of 100+ pages in length cover such subjects as travel, finance, food, drink, health, retailing, airlines, and lifestyles. Reports cover the United States - reports on internationally-focused reports are not available. Data sources used come from Mintel's own surveys, Simmons, Infoscan's IRI, and trade research. Acceptance of 'Academic Conditions of Use' and registration are required to use this database.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Additional full text, non-journal content includes case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, and conference proceedings. Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Titles include Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review and Administrative Science Quarterly.

Norms and Ratios - the way a company can benchmark within its industry

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
There are over 700 United States financial and operations industry norms and ratios. To find the ratios look under the Key Statistics tab, the last item at the bottom of the page is "Industry Financial Ratios" provided by RMA.

Standard & Poor's Industry Survey
The Industry Surveys are the best place to start your industry research. Basic global analysis and overview of major industries with many subject breakdowns within each industry. Statistical information includes sales, profit margin, P/E ratios, and capital expenditures. Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage also provides additional company and industry information.
For industry covered click on the blue icon beside the title.
more...less...
Advertising, Aerospace & Defense, Agribusiness, Airlines, Alcoholic Beverages & Tobacco, Apparel & Footwear: Retailers & Brands, Autos & Auto Parts, Banking, Biotechnology, Broadcasting, Cable & Satellite, Chemicals, Chemicals: Specialty, Communications Equipment, Computers: Commercial Services, Computers: Consumer Services & the Internet, Computers: Hardware,
Computers: Networking, Computers: Software, Computers: Storage & Peripherals, Electric Utilities, Environmental & Waste Management, Financial Services: Diversified, Foods & Nonalcoholic Beverages, Healthcare: Facilities, Healthcare: Managed Care, Healthcare: Pharmaceuticals, Healthcare: Products & Supplies, Heavy Equipment & Trucks, Homebuilding, Household Durables, Household Nondurables, Industrial Machinery, Insurance: Life & Health, Insurance: Property-Casualty, Investment Services,
Lodging & Gaming, Metals: Industrial, Metals: Precious, Movies & Home Entertainment, Natural Gas: Distribution, Oil & Gas: Equipment & Services, Oil & Gas: Production & Marketing, Paper & Forest Products, Publishing & Advertising, Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITS), Restaurants, Retailing: General, Retailing: Specialty, Savings & Loans, Semiconductor Equipment, Semiconductors, Supermarkets & Drugstores, Telecommunications: Wireless, Telecommunications: Wireline, and Transportation: Commercial industries.
Statisitcs for Specific Industries
The industries covered include Agriculture, Banking, Energy, Environment, Health and Safety, Housing, and Transportation
Quarterly Financial Report for Manufacturing, Mining, and Trade Corporations
Quarterly income statements and balance sheets, as well as financial and operating ratios for approximately 40 industries grouped by amount of total assets.
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Over 20 financial ratios and percentages are given for each of major industries. Statistics lag three years behind publication date. Note: Compiles statistics for companies just starting up and having no money in assets. For current statistics use the RMA Annual Statement Studies.
more...less...
Ref. Desk HF 5681 .R25 T68

Trade Data from International Trade Administration

Global Patterns of U.S. Merchandise Trade
Part of the TradeStats Express National Trade webproduct, this source allows users to select a product using NAICS, HS, or STIC codes, going back annually or quarterly to 1989. It displays data as a map showing range of imports or exports. Under the map is a table with countries ranked by the must current year. This data can be downloaded.
State-by-State Exports to a Selected Market
Part of the TradeStat Express State Export web product, this source can be searched by which states ship what products to which country, such as exports to China from each state. Database can be searched by selective NAICS for exports, going back quarterly or annually to 1999. The results display as a segmented map of the United States and a table of states ranked by cost of exports. Results can be downloaded.
Export Product Profile to a Selected Market
Part of the TradeStat Express State Export web product, this source can be searched by what products from a state or U.S. region ships to which country; such as what products Arkansas exports to China. Database can be searched by selective NAICS for exports, going back quarterly or annually to 1999. The results display as a pie chart and a table of products ranked by cost of exports. Results can be downloaded.

BLS

Industries at a Glance
Includes:
Workforce Statistics (Layoffs, Extended Mass Layoffs, Employment by Occupation, Projections); Earnings and Hours (Earnings and Hours of All Employees, Earnings and Hours of Production and Nonsupervisory Employees, Earnings by Occupation); Work-related Fatalities, Injuries, and Illnesses; Import & Export Prices; Producer Price Index; and Workplace Trends (Establishments, Productivity).

Industries

Classification Systems

Commerce Department Sources

U.S. Market Research (Products) Reports

Norms and Ratios - the way a company can benchmark within its industry

Trade Data from International Trade Administration

BLS