News & Commentary

How can I access Foreign Policy?

• Log into foreignpolicy.com through the Library. Authenticate with your NetID (if necessary) and enjoy full access to FP. No signups required (although you may want to sign up for a free FP account).
• Create a personal FP account with your georgetown.edu email address. See instructions below.
• Download and install the FP app on your mobile device. See instructions below.
• Install Lean Library for automatic Library access. After installation, go to foreignpolicy.com. Lean Library will pop up and give you one-click Library access. (You can also set Lean Library to automatically redirect your FP visits through the Library.) ProxyGU is another tool that allows you to visit chronicle.com and then redirect your visit through the Library's proxy server.

How do I create an FP account?

You do not need to create an FP account to read articles, but many users find it helpful. An FP account also allows you to sign up for FP newsletters.

• Note: We recommend creating your account on-campus, while connected to a GU network, and using your georgetown.edu email.
• Go to the FP website and click Sign In (top-right corner).
• A new box will pop up.
• Click I don't have an account at the bottom of the box. The box will change to the Sign Up box.
• Use your georgetown.edu email to create your FP account. This account is not connected with your NetID account, please do not re-use your NetID password for your FP account.

FP Mobile App

Read FP from anywhere on your phone using the FP Mobile app! 

Note: When installing the app, you must be connected to the Georgetown network. 

• Download the app (from the Apple App store or Google Play store).
• Open the app and start reading an article.
• You should get a banner saying, "You are eligible for digital access to Foreign Policy on behalf of your organization, GEORGETOWN UNIVERSITY." 
  • If you already have an FP account, click Log In. Follow the instructions on the next screen. You may get the banner again -- if so, choose Membership Options and then Enable Access.
  • If you do not have an FP account, click Create An Account. Sign up using your georgetown.edu email address. Make sure the box for Redeem Foreign Policy access provided by my organization is checked (see picture).

You should now be able to read FP articles in the app. When reading a story, you can click the bookmark icon to save the story for later, and read it when not connected to the Internet.

How long can I enjoy Georgetown's subscription? Do I need to renew?

If your NetID is current and provides access to Library databases, you'll have access to Foreign Policy.

• Student access is active until graduation. After graduation you will lose access to Foreign Policy (and other Library databases). 
• Faculty and staff access automatically renews as long as your employment, or we cancel our campus subscription. 

How do I subscribe / unsubscribe to FP Newsletters?

Get FP in your inbox! Foreign Policy publishes several daily and weekly newsletters, giving you curated lists of FP's essential reporting, or targeted news about a region, country, or topic. 

• Subscribe to a newsletter by going to the FP Newsletter Page (https://foreignpolicy.com/newsletters/) and signing into your FP Account. Click the plus symbol below a newsletter to subscribe. 
• You can unsubscribe to a newsletter also on the Newsletters page, by clicking the checkmark.
• Unsubscribe to FP emails by scrolling down to the bottom of the Newsletters page and toggling your email preferences.

How do I read older FP articles, or cross-search FP with other journals or newspapers?

Georgetown's access to Foreign Policy includes the complete print archive, making it easy to browse issues of FP from the 1970s onward. However, if you are searching for a specific article, or for all articles on a person or topic, it can be easier to use a Library database that indexes Foreign Policy:

Note that Library databases only have articles from the print edition of Foreign Policy, and don't contain web-only articles from the website.