News & Commentary

This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface. Paid ads are excluded.

Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

Full-text database of 200 selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.

Selected digitized issues of the Washington Evening Star, 1852-1981.

The Businessweek Archive contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of Businessweek. Continued by Bloomberg Businessweek in 2009.

More than 140 newspapers from 22 islands, including Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands.

Includes a newspaper title directory (1690 - present) and searchable digitized images of selected local and regional newspapers (1880- 1922).

Fulltext collection of selected, Civil War era articles from the Charleston Mercury, the New York Herald, and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.

Offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. Focusing largely on the 18th century, Series 1 is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies.

Full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. Includes full-color images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables.

The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2016) is the complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper, since it was first published in 1888, can be searched and browsed individually and page by page. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.

The Forbes Archive contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of Forbes, beginning with its first issue in 1917 and ending in December 2000.

Includes full-text translations of foreign radio and television broadcasts as well as selected foreign news, periodical articles and government statements. Search by geographic region, article type or publication title. Browse "Events" to see chronological coverage of topics of interest. Coverage is continued by the World News Connection database.

Krokodil (1922 -2008) was a satirical magazine published in the Soviet Union and Russia which lampooned religion, alcoholism, foreign political figures and events. During the height of the Cold War, cartoons criticizing Uncle Sam, Pentagon, Western colonialism and German militarism were common in its pages. Each issue is browsable in full-page views, and full-text searchable tags identify individuals and organizations within the artwork. Users can search for people and organizations wherever they are represented in caricatures and drawings as well as text.

Expanded and enhanced by: Latin American Newspapers, Series 2 (search separately)
Latin American Newspapers Series 1 offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922. Through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, matrimony notices and obituaries, this unique collection chronicles the evolution of Latin American culture and daily life over two centuries.

Searches opinion pieces and editorials from across the political spectrum. Full text available for America's Quarterly and Commentary only.

Contains nearly 2,000 slavery, anti-slavery, and Civil War pamphlets and the complete runs of eight regional newspapers covering 1840-1865. Cross-searchable with other historical newspapers and the American Periodicals Series.

Click the "more" link below for direct links.
Full text of the following historical African American newspapers: Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, and Cleveland Call and Post.

Click "Additional info" below for direct links.
Complete historical coverage of The Atlanta Constitution, The Baltimore Sun, The Chicago Tribune, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, South China Morning Post, The Times of India, Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

Digital images of historically significant American periodicals from 1740 to 1900, including literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and popular magazines. All typography, drawings, graphic elements, and article layouts appear exactly as originally published. Allows searching by article type (e.g., letter, obituary, poetry, recipe, ad, editorial cartoon, review).

Over 400 underground and alternative newspapers spanning the 1960s to 1980s. Includes campus zines, armed forces newsletters, feminist periodicals, and small press literary magazines.

Searches opinion pieces and editorials from across the political spectrum. Full text available for America's Quarterly and Commentary only.

Index to the most popular general-interest magazines and journals published in the United States. For content published between 1890-1982, use the Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982.

Use this article database to search for a wide range of topics from general interest and popular magazines of the past (1890-1982), such as the Saturday Evening Post and Life. For content published after 1983, use Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson).