Guides: News & Commentary: Major National Newspapers

Accessing Newspapers

The Georgetown University Library provides current access, updated daily, to all major national newspapers. This access is provided via a number of aggregated platforms and not through the native website of the newspaper.

New York Times

NYT - Factiva
Only five simultaneous users can access this resource. Coverage begins in 1980 and it is updated daily.
NYT - Nexis Uni
Coverage begins in 1980 and content is updated daily.
NYT - Proquest
Coverage begins in 1980 and the content is updated daily. The browse function in this product is the most robust.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
For articles published prior to 1980, use this product.
Historical coverage of The Atlanta Constitution, The Baltimore Sun, The Chicago Tribune, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, South China Morning Post, and The Times of India.
New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Registration required: follow the instructions on our New York Times guide and complete registration before accessing.

Provides unlimited access to New York Times content from 1981-present on nytimes.com. Includes access to the New York Times mobile app.

Wall Street Journal

WSJ - Factiva
Coverage begins in 1979 and is the content is updated daily.
WSJ - ABI-Inform
Coverage begins in 1984 and is included in the business database ABI-Inform so if is easy to connect to related articles in other publications.
Historical Wall Street Journal
Far articles dating back to the first issue of the Wall Street Journal in 1923 use this resource.

Washington Post

WaPo - Factiva
Coverage begins in 1984 and is updated daily.
WaPo - Nexis Uni
Coverage begins in 1977 and is updated daily.

The Washington Post is available in Proquest Central but in three collections with consecutive dates of coverage: 1987-1996, 1996-2016, and 2016 to the present.