Guides: Entrepreneurship: Industry Overviews

Starting in the Right Place

Description	Level	Code	Example	Subject Guide	Database example
Retail	Sector	44 (NAICS)	Supermarket	Industry	Census
Supermarket	Industry	4451 (NAICS)	Safeway	Company or Finance	Hoover
Category	Product line	2202.10.00.20 (HS)	Non-Alcoholic Beverages	Marketing or Trade	IBISWorld
Product	Brand	Propriety	Diet Coke	Marketing or Company	Simmons

Overviews

Industry Snapshots
"Key Economic Census data for all industries and geographic areas are available in a consolidated file."
Standard & Poor's Industry Survey
The Industry Surveys are the best place to start your industry research. Basic global analysis and overview of major industries with many subject breakdowns within each industry. Statistical information includes sales, profit margin, P/E ratios, and capital expenditures. Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage also provides additional company and industry information.
For industry covered click on the blue icon beside the title.
more...less...
Advertising, Aerospace & Defense, Agribusiness, Airlines, Alcoholic Beverages & Tobacco, Apparel & Footwear: Retailers & Brands, Autos & Auto Parts, Banking, Biotechnology, Broadcasting, Cable & Satellite, Chemicals, Chemicals: Specialty, Communications Equipment, Computers: Commercial Services, Computers: Consumer Services & the Internet, Computers: Hardware,
Computers: Networking, Computers: Software, Computers: Storage & Peripherals, Electric Utilities, Environmental & Waste Management, Financial Services: Diversified, Foods & Nonalcoholic Beverages, Healthcare: Facilities, Healthcare: Managed Care, Healthcare: Pharmaceuticals, Healthcare: Products & Supplies, Heavy Equipment & Trucks, Homebuilding, Household Durables, Household Nondurables, Industrial Machinery, Insurance: Life & Health, Insurance: Property-Casualty, Investment Services,
Lodging & Gaming, Metals: Industrial, Metals: Precious, Movies & Home Entertainment, Natural Gas: Distribution, Oil & Gas: Equipment & Services, Oil & Gas: Production & Marketing, Paper & Forest Products, Publishing & Advertising, Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITS), Restaurants, Retailing: General, Retailing: Specialty, Savings & Loans, Semiconductor Equipment, Semiconductors, Supermarkets & Drugstores, Telecommunications: Wireless, Telecommunications: Wireline, and Transportation: Commercial industries.

Investext Full from Mergent This link opens in a new window
Investext from Mergent is a database of research reports by brokerage firms and analysts. The resource provides access to research reports on 42,000 global companies and 125 industries. Reports are embargoed for 14 days after publication.

PWC Industries

U.S. Market Research (Products) Reports

Census Business Builder
"The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format."

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
- US Industry Reports (NAICS)
- US Industry iExpert Summaries
- Australia Specialized Industry Reports
- Business Environment Profiles
- Specialized Industry Collection
- State Industry Reports
- State Economic Profiles
IBISWorld publishes many other reports that are not part of the Library's subscription. For more information, please Ask A Librarian.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Users must create a free Mintel account in order to download executive summaries create custom PowerPoint slides of report content.
These market research reports of 100+ pages in length cover such subjects as travel, finance, food, drink, health, retailing, airlines, and lifestyles. Reports cover the United States - reports on internationally-focused reports are not available. Data sources used come from Mintel's own surveys, Simmons, Infoscan's IRI, and trade research. Acceptance of 'Academic Conditions of Use' and registration are required to use this database.

Marketing Research Guide
Use the Marketing Research Guide for more resources
Washington, DC Resources: Data & Statistics

Going Deeper

Nimlok's Upcoming Trade Shows
International directory of trade shows. Once you link into a trade show review exhibitors for competition and talks for trends and experts.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Industries at a Glance
Includes:
Workforce Statistics (Layoffs, Extended Mass Layoffs, Employment by Occupation, Projections); Earnings and Hours (Earnings and Hours of All Employees, Earnings and Hours of Production and Nonsupervisory Employees, Earnings by Occupation); Work-related Fatalities, Injuries, and Illnesses; Import & Export Prices; Producer Price Index; and Workplace Trends (Establishments, Productivity).
US Regulations
This web page is for help complying with laws and regulations
more...less...
Those industry regulated by Federal Agencies
apply within the aerospace & defense; agriculture; automotive; chemicals; construction; consumer goods & services; electric power; energy; financial services; firearms & explosives; food & beverage; health care; real estate; manufacturing; mining & drilling; nuclear power; oil & gas; pharmaceutical; printers & publishers; media & telecommunications; and transportation & logistics industries.
American Society of Association Executives Directory
ASAE represents a membership organization association executives and industry partners representing more than 11,000 organizations. Our members manage leading trade associations, individual membership societies and voluntary organizations.
Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
This guide identifies yearbooks, directories, manuals, encyclopedias, periodicals, and statistics, for over 1100 business-related topics and industries.
more...less...
Ref. Desk Z 7164 .C81 E93

Entrepreneurship

Addtional Guides

Classification Systems

Industry Specific

Starting in the Right Place

Overviews

U.S. Market Research (Products) Reports

Going Deeper