The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Also called the Harmonized Tariff Schedule (HTS). This classification is controlled by the U.S. International Trade Commission. The first six digits conform to an international standardized code. The next four digits are unique to U.S. or other countries.
Trade Data from International Trade Administration
Part of the TradeStats Express National Trade webproduct, this source allows users to select a product using NAICS, HS, or STIC codes, going back annually or quarterly to 1989. It displays data as a map showing range of imports or exports. Under the map is a table with countries ranked by the must current year. This data can be downloaded.
Part of the TradeStat Express State Export web product, this source can be searched by which states ship what products to which country, such as exports to China from each state. Database can be searched by selective NAICS for exports, going back quarterly or annually to 1999. The results display as a segmented map of the United States and a table of states ranked by cost of exports. Results can be downloaded.
Part of the TradeStat Express State Export web product, this source can be searched by what products from a state or U.S. region ships to which country; such as what products Arkansas exports to China. Database can be searched by selective NAICS for exports, going back quarterly or annually to 1999. The results display as a pie chart and a table of products ranked by cost of exports. Results can be downloaded.
Monthly publication of the US Department of Commerce with reports and statistics on the current business situation and economy of the United States. Includes inventories, sales, and profits by broad industry group, and other industry statistics.
County Business Patterns is an annual series that provides zipcode, MSA, and county economic data by industry and over time. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. Data include industry, employees, payroll, establishments, and number of establishments by employment-size class.
Collected every five years, the basic Economic Census content includes several key statistics tabulated for all industries at the national, state, county, and MSA levels. Current census statistical data is arranged by NAICS and include number of establishments (or companies), number of employees, payroll, and measure of output (sales, receipts, revenue, value of shipments, or value of construction work done).
Industry market research reports from over 700 United States industries. Each report is 25-30 pages in length, contains key statistics, and is updated regularly. The Library's subscription includes:
US Industry Reports (NAICS)
US Industry iExpert Summaries
US Business Environment Profiles
IBISWorld publishes many other reports that are not part of the Library's subscription. For more information, please Ask A Librarian.
Limited to 10 concurrent users. Simmons now uses the "Catalyst" interface. To revert to the previous interface, log in and look for the "Launch 1.0" button in the upper-right corner.
Allows users to explore U.S. buying habits based on demographics, psychographics, media preferences and other criteria. An extension of Simmons Survey of Media and Markets National Consumer Study, the marketing data were collected from more than 22,000 households, then projected to reflect the general population.
Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Titles include Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review and Administrative Science Quarterly.
These market research reports of 100+ pages in length cover such subjects as travel, finance, food, drink, health, retailing, airlines, and lifestyles. Reports cover the United States - reports on internationally-focused reports are not available. Data sources used come from Mintel's own surveys, Simmons, Infoscan's IRI, and trade research. Acceptance of 'Academic Conditions of Use' and registration are required to use this database.
"The Census of Governments identifies the scope and nature of the nation's state and local government sector; provides authoritative benchmark figures of public finance and public employment; classifies local government organizations, powers, and activities; and measures federal, state, and local fiscal relationships."
Selling to the local, state, federal, and foreign governments are a great way to get a steady customer. This guide will help you find leads, provide advice, and learn the rules.
Created by the SBA, this website is created for new businesses in mind. "The government offers many tools to help small businesses build their potential to compete more successfully not only in the global economy but in the federal sector as well. The paths below will assist you in contracting with the government."
Includes: Workforce Statistics (Layoffs, Extended Mass Layoffs, Employment by Occupation, Projections); Earnings and Hours (Earnings and Hours of All Employees, Earnings and Hours of Production and Nonsupervisory Employees, Earnings by Occupation); Work-related Fatalities, Injuries, and Illnesses; Import & Export Prices; Producer Price Index; and Workplace Trends (Establishments, Productivity).
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy