Guides: Entrepreneurship: Financing

Venture Capital

S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
To find what company a VC/PE fund invested in or who funds a new company, type in the name of the company or fund in the search box at the top.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Georgetown users must create a free account using their Georgetown email address. Once you have an account, you can access the database content.
The source for financial data on major privately-held companies. From elusive private financials and revenues to private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history, private and family ownership breakdowns, and more.

National Venture Capital Assoication - Research
PE/VC
Part of S&P NetAdvantage
more...less...
Select "Screening" then select "PE/VC", then below select "Private Equity and Venture Capital Investment Firms" for information for over 9,000 firms
Kickstarter
"Kickstarter is a new way to fund creative projects. We believe that: A good idea, communicated well, can spread fast and wide and A large group of people can be a tremendous source of money and encouragement. Kickstarter is powered by a unique all-or-nothing funding method where projects must be fully-funded or no money changes hands."
more...less...
crowd funding

Kiva
"We are a non-profit organization with a mission to connect people through lending to alleviate poverty. Leveraging the internet and a worldwide network of microfinance institutions, Kiva lets individuals lend as little as $25 to help create opportunity around the world."
CrunchBase
Access to CrunchBase can be found at the Library of Congress Business Reading Room.
"CrunchBase is the free directory of technology companies, people, and investors that anyone can edit.... Currently, all additions and edits to CrunchBase go through an approval process before they are pushed live. We are working on ways that will allow users to make immediate changes to the site. Expect to see this type of functionality rolled out soon." CrunchBase blog

Banking Information Source This link opens in a new window
Includes information on the international and domestic operations of retail and commercial banks and credit unions. Covers over 400 publications, with 160 current full-text trade magazines, newspapers, and some scholarly publications. The American Banker full-text articles start with 1987, while other full-text articles started in 1990. Formerly Banking Literature Index from the American Bankers Association.
Fed in Print This link opens in a new window
Index to all Federal Reserve Board and Banks' publications with selected full text in more recent years.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Eastern edition; New York. The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Updated daily.

Financial Times
Financial Times is published out of the UK and is considered a global financial newspaper. Choose ProQuest (ABI/Inform- Complete) access for ease of use.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Renaissance Capital's IPO Expert
Renaissance Capital is a leader in independent IPO research and IPO investment services.
NASDAQ Initial Public Offerings Summary