A concise page with helpful tips on citing your data and examples from three official style guides (APA, MLA, and Chicago). Includes information about how to cite tables, datasets, and citing within text. From Michigan State University Libraries.
It provides self-paced training on just about anything from creative writing to MS Office applications. Online tutorials on software products for 3D, audio, video, photography, graphic design, web and interactive design, business, and development.
The ArcView Geographic Information System (GIS) is a powerful desktop mapping software program for managing information and data of any kind based on location. This decision-making tool allows users to visualize information and data in new ways to reveal relationships, patterns and trends, and to create customized maps based on that analysis.
Users can supply their own data, make use of datasets available in the Gelardin New Media Center, or utilize data that accompany the ArcView software. Gelardin has two work stations with ArcView GIS software installed and a color printer for printing maps. ArcView GIS software may also be borrowed from the Government Documents Department for installation on any Georgetown University-owned computer.
This UN site offers links to the the government statistical agencies for individual countries. Such sites may include the latest statistics on economic indicators and categories relevant to a particular country. Not every country has a government Web site. Lauinger Library also has statistical handbooks for selected countries. The most current ones are in Reference, with older volumes on the 4th Floor, call number ranges from HA1171 to HA4631.
Over 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment of United Nations agencies and other international organizations. Most data are available in time series from 1970 or 1980 to the present. (Statistics for some items lag by several years.)
Comparable data collected by the World Bank to measure development outcomes. The World Bank's principal data source on the global economy. More than 550 time series, 1960-present, on more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
This International Monetary Fund source provides current and historical financial information on member countries. Includes exchange rates, inflation and deflation, government finance, balance of payments, money and banking, and national income accounts. International Financial Statistics Yearbooks (1979 - ) are in LAU Stacks at HG 3881.I6262 (latest year at reference desk). Monthly print editions in Ref. HG 3881.I626.
This resource, issued by the IMF, contains data on revenue, expense, and transactions in assets and liabilities for the government sector and its subsectors, such as military expenses or tax revenue. The time series present annual statistics on detailed revenues and expenditures for all levels of government.
Topics covered include deficit/surplus or total financing, revenues or grants, expenditures, lending minus repayments, domestic financing, foreign financing, domestic debt or total debt, and foreign debt.
The IMF's Financial Soundness Indicators (FSIs) measure the soundness of financial institutions as a sector and the conditions of the counterpart corporate and household sectors. Indicators include regulatory capital to risk-weighted assets, nonperforming loans to total gross loans, return on assets, return on equity, interest margin to gross income, liquid assets to short-term liabilities, and net open position in foreign exchange to capital for all countries.
There are also data on household debt to GDP, household debt service and principal payments to income, average bid-ask spread in the securities market, average daily turnover ratio in the securities market, residential real estate loans to total loans, and commercial real estate loans to total loans for selective countries.
A portal to all IMF datasets, including International Financial Statistics (IFS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Government Finance Statistics (GFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOP, World and Regional Aggregates), Financial Access Survey (FAS), Coordinated Direct Investment Survey (CDIS), Coordinated Portfolio Investment Survey (CPIS) and International Reserves Template. You can search a combination of 308 countries, regions and NGOs. Contains 7325 economic concepts. Covers 1948-present.
this resource presents statistics on public and publicly guaranteed debt of 138 countries and regional and income groups. Contains many types of data from the World Bank Debtor Reporting System, including total external debt stocks and flows, key debt ratios, major economic aggregates, average terms of new commitments (private and public), currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructing, workers’ remittances, and net inward foreign direct investment (FDI). Data may be displayed as tables, charts or maps or exported as Excel or ASCII files. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, or viewed as percentage change. A link to Part One (commentaries) of Global Development Finance is at http://www.worldbank.org/prospects
International Debt Statistics (IDS), successor to Global Development Finance and World Debt Tables, is designed to respond to user demand for timely, comprehensive data on trends in external debt in low- and middle-income countries. The World Bank’s Debtor Reporting System (DRS), from which the aggregate and country tables presented in this report are drawn, was established in 1951. World Debt Tables, the first publication that included DRS external debt data, appeared in 1973 and gained increased attention during the debt crisis of the 1980s. Since then, the publication and data have undergone numerous revisions and iterations to address the challenges and demands posed by the global economic conditions.
AidData attempts to capture the universe of development finance and foreign aid, increase the value of data by providing more descriptive information about development activities, and provide data in an accessible format.
Contains official reports, yearbooks and related publications of regional statistical bodies and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union. Language is primarily Russian, with many headings and tables of contents translated into English.
Extensive economic statistics on Southeast Asian nations, including statistics on production, inflation, trade, foreign direct investment, infrastructure, tourism, and links to member countries. Includes monthly and quarterly data, to the current year. Statistics go back several years.
Statistical data at the national, provincial (31), county (over 2000), and city (over 700) level. The Website contains annual macroeconomic, industry, and socioeconomic data, with some monthly data. A few market research reports and trade data (in Chinese). Authorized by the Chinese National Bureau of Statistics. Georgetown only has access to the information under China Statistics and Statistical Yearbook (i.e. nothing under Census Data, Census Map & Report, Survey Data, etc.).
Limited to a single current user
Provides social and economic statistics for India, covering topics such as agriculture, banking and finance, companies, crime and law, demographics, education, elections, environment, foreign trade, health, housing, media, and tourism. Click on the 'IP Login' button on the Indiastat toolbar to log in and get access.
While accessing the site, please to note that its session time-out is set for 20 minutes i.e. in case your browser remains idle or inactive for 20 minutes, re-login would be required. Also ensure proper logout from the site by clicking “Log out” link as in case of improper log-out it may take another 20 minutes to re-login.
OECD.Stat, a feature of SourceOECD, contains quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in OECD member countries, the most highly industrialised in the world. Topics include general economic indicators, development and aid, agriculture, national accounts, labor market and social issues, foreign trade, and industry, science and technology.
An annual presentation of key economic data since 1986, covering seven major industrial countries and the "Euro area." Data on output, inflation, monetary aggregates, interest rates, government budget, current account, exchange rates and foreign exchange reserves. Includes a brief essay on a topic relevant to the international economy. Click on "Entire Publication" for a linked table of contents.
Data from the Statistical Office of the European Union, allowing for comparisons among EU members and regions. Covers national accounts, employment, industry, energy, services, agriculture, external trade, prices, financial statistics and balance of payments. Monthly print version, Eurostatistics, available in LAU Ref Stacks.
This print source includes available statistics for European countries on population, labor, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport, communications, finance, prices and national accounts. Ref. HA 1107 .M5 2007
National Institute of Geography, Statistics and Informatics is a “must visit” site if you are researching Mexico; it has a comprehensive archive of all relevant Mexican statistics and economic information.
Social and economic statistics from the Canadian government's statistics agency. Includes data from Canada's 1996 and 2001 censuses. Provides statistics on the economy, people, geography and government of Canada. Also newly released data, community profiles and selected analytical articles.