Guides: Data Services for MSB: Social Sciences

Getting Started

Search strategies to identify a data set:

Literature search: search a database relevant to your subject area for articles that have conducted related analysis and identify the datasets they used.

Going straight to a likely source: check to see if there is a particular organization or government agency that collects the type of data that you need. Try searching their website or publications.

Data archive search: Try searching through a large data archive, such as ICPSR or Data Planet.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
A free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created and accessed every 6 months from on-campus or through the proxied link above. Visit this guide for more information.
Provides access to computerized social science data collected by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad.
Sage Data

A vast collection of US and international statistics in Sage Data. Allows you to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.

Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including, business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, energy, housing and construction as well as labor and employment. Dataplanet also incorporates all of the content previously available in Sage Stats.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Users can create a free account in order to save, share, and collaborate on maps and projects. In addition to its comprehensive data resources, Social Explorer offers features and tools to meet the needs of demography experts and novices alike. From research libraries to classrooms to government agencies to corporations to the front page of the New York Times, Social Explorer helps the public engage with society and science.

U.S. Resources

Statistical Abstract of the United States
A well indexed, comprehensive collection of statistics in tabular format. Includes basic statistics for a wide range of economic indicators. The index leads to specific table numbers. Each table lists the source of the statistics for further reference.

Data.census.gov
Data from the U.S. Census Bureau, including the Census of Population and Housing, the Economic Census, and the American Community Survey.

Population topics include aging, disability, education, gender, employment, origins and languages, poverty, race and ethnicity, relationships, transportation and veterans. Housing information includes physical and financial characteristics. The Economic Census includes statistics on business and industry, foreign trade and government.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Contains a wide range of historical data from the earliest times to the present. Tables cover specific indicators such as employment, income, saving, poverty, construction, housing, consumer price indexes, and others.

Includes most of the statistical series from the Statistical Abstract of the United States. The electronic version is based on the five volume print edition of 2006 -- copy in Lau Ref: HA202.H57

StateMaster
Compiles data from various sources to compare U.S. state statistics graphically. Sources include the U.S. Census Bureau, the FBI and the National Center for Educational Statistics.
International Historical Statistics: The Americas 1750 - 2005
Covering the countries of the Americas (North, South, and Central), this print book provides statistics on different topics, including population, industry, trade, finance, education and national accounts. Arranged by broad subject area.
Circular Area Profiles (CAPS)
Missouri Census Data Center created this application to aggregate 2010 Census data to approximate circular areas as specified by the user using a point location and 1 or more radius values.

Data Services for MSB

Additional Sources

For Faculty

Getting Started

U.S. Resources