• Business models for private sector participation in sub-sectors of city operations, for example
buildings, transport, waste
• Key messages for private sector clients to utilize the EPIC Cities tool
• Advertising or revenue-sharing models for private sector participation in EPIC
Search String when looking for Business Models
in environmental article databases: (PPP or "Public Private Partnership" or P3)
in other databases add these: and (CO2 or emissions or climate or environmental) and (marketing or advert* or model* or case or frameworks)
Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. Provides access to journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters. Formerly LexisNexis Environmental and ProQuest Environment Abstracts.
Provides comprehensive coverage on environment-related subjects, from ecosystem ecology and renewable energy sources to environmental law and public policy. Contains full text for 950 journals, including many of the most used in the discipline, such as Environment, Ecologist, or Conservation Biology.
Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. This mixed media collection spans over 173 hours of video and 132,000 pages of digital material.
The database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries, enabling students to build a critical understanding of the relationship between people and the environment through social, cultural, economic, political, historical and ecological perspectives. Reflecting the multidisciplinary nature of the field of Environmental Studies, content is drawn from the social sciences, ecology and earth science, and the humanities.
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Includes citations to scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Some full text documents are included.
JSTOR Sustainability brings together 150 journals and 5,000 research reports on the environment, energy, ecology, urban planning, infrastructure, land management, and more. The collection can be searched on its own or through the JSTOR general portal.
Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of Elsevier journal articles mainly in science and medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities, particularly business, economics and psychology. The full text of most journals is available to Georgetown users. You can search across all journals or browse/search in an individual journal.
This academic research center studies the psychological, cultural, and political factors that shape public opinion and behavior, using surveys, experiments, interviews, statistical models, maps and participatory GIS, among other methods, at the global, national, and local scales. On this website, find publications, data, and visualizations, such as the Yale Climate Opinion Maps.
At George Mason University, this center conducts communication studies in order to help government agencies, civic organizations, professional associations, and companies apply social science research to improve their public engagement initiatives on climate change. Find reports, presentations, and other resources.
In addition to a variety of information on climate change, this science advocacy organization has published videos and other training resources on how scientists can clearly communicate about their research to policy makers and the public.
A nonprofit organization, RFF "conducts independent research--rooted primarily in economics and other social sciences--on environmental, energy, natural resource and environmental health issues." Focuses on Energy and Climate, Regulating Risks, Transportation and Urban Land, The Natural World, and Health and Environment. RFF researchers are primarily economists, but coverage is multidisciplinary, with relevance to city and regional planning, engineering, ecology, geography, law, political science, and public policy. Includes a blog and a Featured Work section with reports from RFF centers (e.g., Center for Climate and Electricity Policy).
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
ProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.