Skip to main content
International Business Etiquette, Manners and Culture
Learn about etiquette, manners, and cross cultural, or intercultural communication this website includes information concerning religion, appearance, behavior, communication, Geert Hofstede Analysis dimensions, and additional resources. Regions covered are Asia, Middle East, Europe/Russia, Latin America, South Pacific, and North America.
"Executive Planet™ provides valuable tips on business etiquette, customs and protocol for doing business worldwide."
Country Insights from the Centre for Intercultural Learning
Arranged by country this website takes a Canadian perspective on such issues of conversations, communication styles, display of Emotion
Dress, Punctuality & Formality
Preferred Managerial Qualities
Hierarchy and Decision-making
Religion, Class, Ethnicity, & Gender
Privileges and Favouritism
Conflicts in the Workplace
Motivating Local Colleagues
Recommended Books, Films & Foods
Shared Historical Events with Canada
Starting a Business
Provides in-depth market research reports on various industries and global markets, emphasizing emerging markets. Also provides extensive economic and political risk ratings and analysis, macroeconomic analysis and forecasts, and financial analysis of debt and equity. Includes profiles for many multinational companies and their subsidiaries, and intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes. Also includes podcasts, webinars, and a tool for creating charts and tables to illustrate data and forecasting.
Doing Business In ...
The International Finance Corporation's and World Bank's Doing Business Project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.
Oxford Business Group country reports
Covering emerging markets, each report provides macro-analysis of key sectors and identifies investment opportunities in sub-sectors, all supported by graphs and statistics. Each report features interviews with members of the country’s political and business elite.
NOTE: Inquire at Reference Desk for download instructions. Regions and countries include:
The Middle East
Papua New Guinea
UAE: Abu Dhabi
UAE: Ras Al Khaimah
The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Contains books, journals, newsletters, statistical periodicals, reference works, and interactive statistical data tables in over 25 database products published since 1998. Text can be searched by theme or country. Statistics can be searched by title and theme. Statistical databases allow users to build their own tables from the latest data, draw graphs and tables, and download to Excel or as .csv files.
IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook
Ranks 59 industrialized and emerging economies on these criteria: domestic economy, international trade, international investment, employment, prices, public finance, productivity, labor, finance and infrastructure.
Investment Arbitration Reporter
An electronic news service tracking cross-border arbitrations and lawsuits between foreign investors and their host governments.
Provided by the generous support of the Georgetown Law Library.
Market Research Library
These guides present a country's commercial environment using economic, political, and market analysis. Includes the full text of Country Commercial Guides, Market Research Reports, and Best Market Reports from 2005 to present. Published by the US DOC's Foreign Commercial Service.