International Business

Over 300 sets of economic, social, and financial statistics from a wide assortment of United Nations agencies and other international organizations. Most data are available in time series from 1970 or 1980 to the present. (Statistics for some items lag by several years.)

Comparable data collected by the World Bank to measure development outcomes. The World Bank's principal data source on the global economy. More than 550 time series, 1960-present, on more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

This International Monetary Fund source provides current and historical financial information on member countries. Includes exchange rates, inflation and deflation, government finance, balance of payments, money and banking, and national income accounts. International Financial Statistics Yearbooks (1979 - ) are in LAU Stacks at HG 3881.I6262 (latest year at reference desk). Monthly print editions in Ref. HG 3881.I626.

This resource, issued by the IMF, contains data on revenue, expense, and transactions in assets and liabilities for the government sector and its subsectors, such as military expenses or tax revenue. The time series present annual statistics on detailed revenues and expenditures for all levels of government.

Contains quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in OECD member countries, the most highly industrialised in the world. Topics include general economic indicators, development and aid, agriculture, national accounts, labor market and social issues, foreign trade, and industry, science and technology.

Social and economic statistics from the Canadian government's statistics agency. Includes data from Canada's 1996 and 2001 censuses. Provides statistics on the economy, people, geography and government of Canada. Also newly released data, community profiles and selected analytical articles.

To query data, follow these instructions.
A portal to all IMF datasets, including International Financial Statistics (IFS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Government Finance Statistics (GFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOP, World and Regional Aggregates), Financial Access Survey (FAS), Coordinated Direct Investment Survey (CDIS), Coordinated Portfolio Investment Survey (CPIS) and Climate Change Indicator Dashboard. You can search a combination of 308 countries, regions, and NGOs. Contains 7325 economic concepts. Covers 1948-present. Freely available.

this resource presents statistics on public and publicly guaranteed debt of 138 countries and regional and income groups. Contains many types of data from the World Bank Debtor Reporting System, including total external debt stocks and flows, key debt ratios, major economic aggregates, average terms of new commitments (private and public), currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructing, workers’ remittances, and net inward foreign direct investment (FDI). Data may be displayed as tables, charts or maps or exported as Excel or ASCII files. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, or viewed as percentage change. A link to Part One (commentaries) of Global Development Finance is at http://www.worldbank.org/prospects

Contains official reports, yearbooks and related publications of regional statistical bodies and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union. Language is primarily Russian, with many headings and tables of contents translated into English.

Statistical data at the national, provincial (31), county (over 2000), and city (over 700) level. The Website contains annual macroeconomic, industry, and socioeconomic data, with some monthly data. A few market research reports and trade data (in Chinese). Authorized by the Chinese National Bureau of Statistics. Georgetown only has access to the information under China Statistics and Statistical Yearbook (i.e. nothing under Census Data, Census Map & Report, Survey Data, etc.).