It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly jounals are writien for professional level managers and are less time-senative. Scholarly sources include articles written by experts: often professors; articles often go through a peer review process: independent experts evaluate the article before it's published; articles have footnotes and bibliographies; minimal advertising, graphics, or illustrations unless relevant to the article (for example, IT architecture images).
An example of a scholarly journal is MIS quarterly : management information systems
Tips for Finding Articles
WHEN YOU HAVE A CITATION
To find an article when you have a citation (e.g. from a bibliography), you can search for the article title in Google Scholar, or search for the journal title in Journal Finder (search boxes at left).
If we don't subscribe to the journal, you can request a scanned copy of the article through InterLibrary Loan.
SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES BY KEYWORD
To find articles on a particular topic, use an article index, a list of which can be found on the library’s homepage under Articles & Databases. To find relevant databases, use the "Databases by Specific Subject" column.
Your search will yield a list of citations to articles, and many will link right to the articles themselves online. Look for the "Full Text," "PDF" or “Find Full Text @G” links.
Bank of America Corp.
J.P. Morgan Chase & Co.
American International Group
International Business Machines
Procter & Gamble
Archer Daniels Midland
U.S. Postal Service
Johnson & Johnson
State Farm Insurance Cos.
Medco Health Solutions
Goldman Sachs Group
United Parcel Service
International Assets Holding
New York Life Insurance
Liberty Mutual Insurance Group
Delta Air Lines
Enterprise GP Holdings
Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance
Philip Morris International
Hartford Financial Services
Publix Super Markets
PNC Financial Services Group
Plains All American Pipeline
Time Warner Cable
United Services Automobile Association
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Full-text business publications and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Coverage goes as far back as 1886. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, books, videos, major reference works, book digests, and conference proceedings.
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Titles include Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, MIT Sloan Management Review and Administrative Science Quarterly.
Covers all aspects of contemporary business, including accounting, taxation, foreign trade, advertising, banking, public relations, government regulations, real estate, acquisitions and mergers, insurance, communications, management, marketing, entertainment, healthcare, hospitality, tourism, oil and computers.
This source has over 130 full-text journals published by MCB University Press. Subjects include: general management, human resources, information management, library & information services, marketing, property, engineering, quality, training & education, operations, production & economics. Most of the journals have an international perspective.
A - General Economics and Teaching
B - History of Economic Thought, Methodology, and Heterodox Approaches
C - Mathematical and Quantitative Methods
D - Microeconomics
E - Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics
F - International Economics
G - Financial Economics
H - Public Economics
I - Health, Education, and Welfare
J - Labor and Demographic Economics
K - Law and Economics
L - Industrial Organization
M - Business Administration and Business Economics • Marketing • Accounting
N - Economic History
O - Economic Development, Technological Change, and Growth
P - Economic Systems
Q - Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics • Environmental and Ecological Economics
R - Urban, Rural, and Regional Economics
Y - Miscellaneous Categories
Z - Other Special Topics
Searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. For on campus or GU-authenticated users, results contain links to electronic full text from GU-subscribed content, especially journal articles. (If off campus, select Georgetown under Scholar Preferences/Library Links.)
Provides access to scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
ScienceDirect contains over 1,800 journals published by Elsevier. The full text of most journals is available to Georgetown users. ScienceDirect covers mainly science and medicine, with some coverage of social sciences and humanities, particularly business, economics and psychology. You can browse or search in an individual journal or search across all journals.
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.