Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Arab & Middle Eastern Studies

General Archival Databases

These databases cover a variety of topics and geographic areas.  They are included here because there is significant content of interest to researchers in the Arab & Islamic worlds, and the Middle East.

Gertrude Bell Archive

http://www.gerty.ncl.ac.uk/

The Gertrude Bell Papers comprise Gertrude's personal correspondence, diaries and miscellaneous items, such as Review of the Civil Administration of Mesopotamia (1920), notebooks, obituaries, lecture notes and miscellaneous reports, memoranda and cuttings. Circa. 1,600 letters and diaries covering the years 1877-1879 and 1893-1900 (with some gaps reflecting where we do not have the hard-copy diary) can be found transcribed on this website, along with c.7,000 of her archaeological and travel photographs. (The photographic portion of the Gertrude Bell archive is administered by the School of Historical Studies.) Neither letters to and from army officer Charles Doughty-Wylie (written 1913-1915) nor any of the Miscellaneous materials have been transcribed although a handlist to the Miscellaneous part of the collection is available

Speeches

Georgetown Special Collections Research Center

Georgetown's Special Collections Research Center has extensive collectionc of archival & manuscript materials that are invaluable to research in Arab & Middle Eastern Studies, such as correspondence of diplomats who have served in the region.... and much more, including the William  E. Mulligan Papers & the George Rentz Papers (to name a few), which chronicle the founding of Saudi Aramco and the early days of modern Saudi Arabia.  Search the collections here.

Manuscripts

Digital Repositories

Historical periodical collections (1900-1950) at the Al-Aqsa Mosque Library in East Jerusalem

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy