Guides: Arab & Middle Eastern Studies: Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest database providing the electronic equivalent of Dissertation Abstracts International. Beginning with the first U.S. dissertation in 1861, represents the work of authors from North American and European universities on a full range of academic subjects. Indexes and provides access to Georgetown-authored theses and dissertations.
Includes abstracts for doctoral dissertations beginning July 1980 and for Master's theses beginning Spring 1988. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts. Citations for Master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Most dissertations published since 1997, and some from prior years, are available for free download; others may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

Dissertations & Theses (Georgetown-authored)
The Georgetown institutional repository includes thousands of graduate and undergraduate dissertations and thesis as well as faculty and staff research.

Australasian Digital Theses Program This link opens in a new window
Indexes theses produced at Australian and New Zealand universities. Includes access to 150,000 theses, with over 5,000 available full-text online. Provides links to home institutions for access to non-digitized theses.
EThoS: Electronic Theses Online This link opens in a new window
The British Library's database of digitized theses from UK higher education institutions. Free registration and login is required.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Presents a searchable and browsable collection of electronic theses and dissertations. Includes masters- and doctoral-level theses and dissertations from about 70 institutions, U.S. and international. Particularly useful as masters' level theses are not often available in other collections
Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
Index of Canadian masters theses and doctoral dissertations from 1965-present. Full text available from 1998 through August 31, 2002; those after 2002 may be available in Dissertations and Theses
Theses.fr This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 5000 theses on all subjects submitted in French to universities around the world, since 2006. Most are digitized and available in full text.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations
The number of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) openly available via institutional repositories has grown dramatically in recent years, increasing the need for a centralized service to search for this unique material. Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD), launched in early 2013, is on the path to fulfill that need. Not as large as the commercial subscription service ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Database, distinguishes itself by providing access to more than 1.6 million open-access theses and dissertations freely available from over 800 institutions worldwide. The simplified interface allows searching across all fields or, in advanced search, by specific field (Title, Author Name, Abstract, University/Publisher, or Subject/Keywords). In addition, users may limit searches to a specific language or date range. Search results may be sorted by relevance, author, university, or date
more...less...
Depending on the search, results may be further limited by date, university, department, degree, level (e.g., doctoral vs. master's), or language. The number of hits for entries under each limit is conveniently displayed in the left column. Links to the full text residing on the home institution's site are provided for each record. In many instances, several pages of the thesis or dissertation are available for viewing. Though other sites cover similar material, e.g., PQDT Open http://pqdtopen.proquest.com and Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations, OATD focuses exclusively on open-access ETDs, and serves as an excellent resource for students and researchers. Its usefulness will continue to increase as more ETDs are made freely available
Reviews of Dissertations on...
Founded in 2010, Dissertation Reviews is a new site that features overviews of recently defended, unpublished doctoral dissertations in a wide variety of disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences. Our goal is to offer readers a glimpse of each discipline’s immediate present by focusing on the window of time between dissertation defense and first book publication.