Arab & Middle Eastern Studies

A collection of British policy papers, documents and marginalia from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers. Begins with early 20th century British interests in the Middle East, continues through the establishment of Israel and on to British diplomatic relations with Israel and the Arab States in the early 1970s. Part of Archives Unbound.

The collection covers Middle Eastern history from 1839-1969; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria. The series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Part of Archives Direct.

Digitized files from Foreign and Commonwealth Office departments concerned with the Middle East, as well as relevant selections from Prime Minister's Office files and Defence Intelligence files. The documents include diplomatic correspondence, dispatches from UK ambassadors and envoys, meeting minutes, and maps. Module I covers 1971-1974, including the 1973 Arab-Israeli war and oil crisis. Module II covers 1974-1978. Module III covers 1979-1981, including regime change in Iran and the start of the Iraq-Iran War. Part of Archives Direct.

The Qatar Digital Library (QDL) is a vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and its wider regions. It includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and much more, complete with contextualized explanatory notes and links, in both English and Arabic. The QDL results from a partnership between the British Library and the Qatar National Library to digitize a wide range of content from the British Library's collections relating to the history of Qatar and the Gulf region, Arabic culture, and the Islamic world.

Cambridge Archive Editions Online is the first-ever digital presentation of the exceptionally well-known and respected series of British archival reprints, known as Archive Editions (UK). Britain's rich history with Middle Eastern countries via its East India Company trade routes up through the Persian Gulf & beyond is revealed in the 100+ individual titles on countries in the Middle Eastern collection. The Slavic & Balkan collection delivers a good introduction to the Balkan region, particularly concerning political & ethnic boundary issues. Titles in the East/Southeast Asian collection deliver insight with historic political & economic reports. All volumes are entirely composed of primary source material, from the British Foreign Record Office & other official British archival repositories.

Complete, full-text archive of the New York Times, from its first issue on September 18, 1851, through 2009. NOTE: The newspaper was titled the New York Daily Times from 1851 to 1857. In 1857, its name was changed to the New York Times.

The Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers collection includes 84 fully-digitized publications from the region from 1870 to present. Most of the publications included are in Arabic, though there are also titles in English and French.