Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Arab & Middle Eastern Studies

A guide to Arab & Middle East Studies.

Overview of the Collection

Georgetown University's Joseph Mark Lauinger Memorial Library holds approximately 130,000 volumes related to the study of the Middle East & North Africa, Islam, and the Islamicate world. Of these items, approximately 88,000 are in European languages while approximately 48,000 are in Arabic. Turkish, Persian, Hebrew and other regional languages are represented in the collection as well, albeit in smaller numbers. The Library subscribes to approximately 200 periodicals related to the region, with a sizeable proportion of these written in Middle East languages. In addition to the Library's print holdings, Lauinger houses over 500 microform titles on the Middle East & North Africa and more than 800 films related to the region.

The Library also provides access to a number of important digital resources on the Middle East & North Africa including Al-Manhal e-Library, the Center for Research Libraries' Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers Collection, a number of Brill Reference Works, and more. This guide provides a thorough but non-exhaustive introduction to a number of these online resources.

A number of items related to the Middle East & North Africa can also be found in the Booth Family Center for Special Collections (5th Floor of Lauinger Library), including in the Arabic Script Manuscript Collection, Diplomacy, International Affairs, & Intelligence Collection, George S. Harris Turkish Periodicals Collection, and Saudi Arabia Manuscripts Collections.

Georgetown users also have access to the holdings of a number of libraries beyond the University through the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC), and Interlibrary Loan (ILL), not to mention other local collections such as the Library of Congress.

No matter who you are or what you are working on, we are here to help! Contact your Middle East Studies Librarian today.

 

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy