Your Librarian
Maps
- Library of Congress's Map CollectionMany contemporary and historical maps of the Arab world and the Middle East.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionMaps from the excellent Univ. of Texas at Austin's Map Collection. Includes contemporary and historical maps of all kinds
- 19th-Century Maps of the Middle East, North Africa, and Central Asia at the University of ChicagoThe University of Chicago has digitized a number of 19th-century maps published in Western Europe, Russia, and in the United States. The maps are the products of Western missions of exploration, scientific research, resource exploitation, conquest, and administration.
- Maps of the Middle East from the David Rumsey Map CollectionThis collection holds maps from the 16th century to the 21st century with a number of atlases, manuscript maps, and maritime charts related to the Middle East. While available online, the physical collection is housed at Stanford University.
- Historic Cities in AsiaHebrew University's collection of historic maps from published books and from manuscripts. Includes maps for Iran, Iraq, Israel, Lebanon, Oman, Syria, Turkey and Yemen
- Al-Bab Maps of the Arab WorldThe blog Al-Bab has a large section of digitized political and geographic maps of the Arab world on its site.
- Palestine Open MapsPalestine Open Maps is an open-source platform that combines mapping technologies and storytelling in order to make important Mandatory-era maps accessible and searchable and curate layered visual stories.
- Maps — Palestine NexusPalestine Nexus, a site founded by historian Zachary Foster, includes a repository of maps and other archival documents relating to the history of Palestine and the Ottoman Empire.
