Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

or browse databases: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

View of Georgetown campus from the Virginia side of the Potomac

Arab & Middle Eastern Studies

Primary Sources Table of Contents

General Info

Special Collections at Georgetown University Library

Historical & Political Primary Source  Materials

General Info on Finding & Using Primary Sources

The subject subdivision "sources" is one simple way to identify primary sources; to find additional words used as subdivisions of Subjects for primary sources, you may also find the general guide "Primary Sources" helpful.

Special Collections at Georgetown University Library

The Booth Family Center for Special Collections  (located on the 5th floor of Lauinger) has the papers of many diplomats and statesmen, as well as William E. Mulligan's Papers on Saudi ARAMCO, which provide a glimpse into the making of modern Saudi Arabia through selected archives from Saudi Aramco (includes many photographs as well as correspondence). BFCSC librarians are very helpful & knowledgeable about the collections & welcome inquiries. For more information about the BFCSC, please click here

Cultural Resources

Historical & Political Primary Source Materials

This is a highly selective list, primarily of documents mostly in British official archives, mostly concerning Great Britain's foreign relations with various Middle Eastern countries. To find additional primary source materials,  see the box to the left General Info on Finding & Using Primary Sources

 

Ottoman Diplomats: Letters from the Imperial Legation in Brussels,1849–1914

The collection includes telegrams and periodic diplomatic reports by Ottoman diplomatic agents (dispatches, dépêches) in Brussels and replies and instructions by their superiors in Istanbul, as well as some letters by Ottoman consuls in Belgium and by Ottoman ambassadors or ministers in other European capitals.

The letters are in French and their content is very diverse including not only reports dealing with Belgian and international society, politics, commerce, industry and finance, but also letters about matters of protocol, or internal issues of the Ottoman Mission.

Creative Commons   This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy