African Studies & African History

NGO "dedicated to improving the health of Nigerian adolescents through sexuality education." Section for Teens with an FAQ. Media reports about Action Health. Publishes Growing Up, a newsletter for young people. Full text report (HIV/AIDS education, sexual education, married adolescents in Northern Nigeria). Links to related sites. Based in Lagos, Nigeria.

Policy issues regarding African health.

International index and database to African health literature and information sources.

Nairobi-based health NGO site includes publications, data, and statistics on public health topics.

The Centre for African Family Studies (CAFS) is an African institution dedicated to strengthening the capacities of organisations and individuals working in the field of reproductive health, population and development in order to contribute to improving the quality of life of families in sub-Saharan Africa.

Extensive surveys and datasets for African countries. Covers population, health, education, nutrition. Information includes Characteristics of Households, Fertility, Fertility Regulation, Fertility Preferences, Early Childhood Mortality, Maternal and Child Health, Maternal and Child Nutrition, Aids and Other STD's. Allows registered users to build custom tables from hundreds of surveys and indicators.

Site contains key Web links and to citations to mental and physical disabilities publications in Africa.

Site includes Newsletter, Policy Reports, and program Publications.

Founded in 1943, EngenderHealth is a nonprofit organization that works internationally to support and strengthen reproductive health services for women and men worldwide. To learn more about our work, click on the photos below.

Site contains selected web links on HIV / AIDS in Africa.

Curated web exhibit illustrating numerous materials used to inform some African communities about HIV/AIDS. All materials are from the collections at the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies, Northwestern University.

An HIV/AIDS information service for sub-Saharan Africa, run by the Integrated Regional Information Network (IRIN).

SAfAIDS' main role is promoting policy, research, planning and programme development around HIV/AIDS in the southern Africa region. Site includes SAfAIDS publications page and links to other African AIDS-related resources.

SANAC was established in 2000 as a response for the need for a multisectoral focus on the HIV epidemic in South Africa. The Council is an advisory body to Cabinet and has no legal status.

The Support for Analysis and Research in Africa (SARA) project is managed by the Academy for Educational Development. The project fosters the use of state-of-the-art information in child survival, nutrition, reproductive health and population, HIV/AIDS and other infectious diseases, and basic education.

Policy, data, and statistics on health issues at country level.