African Studies & African History

Resources on various aspects of African religion.

Articles on Christianity, Islam and African religions and a 49 page bibliography of books and articles.

"...an unofficial directory of information about Anglican provinces, dioceses, parishes, theological colleges and other institutions in Sub-Saharan Africa. The website also lists Anglican Communion efforts in other parts of the world in the interest of and on behalf of the African Church."

Resources for African Christianity south of the Sahara. Stanford U.

Online oral, photographic, video, and archival resources about Senegal and Ghana and their Muslim communities, including interactions with Christianity.

In French. Site of the Association pour la promotion du patrimoine culturel de Djenné. Full text articles from its bulletin, DJENNE PATRIMOINE Informations. Photographs showing repairing / maintaining the mosque. Sketches of Djenne by Pierre Ducoloner. Called the city of 313 saints, has a map showing locations of tombs of saints. Based in Djenné, Mali.

Founded by Enoch Immanuel A. Agbozo. Based in Accra, Ghana.

Page on the religious practice of Ifa. By Philip Neimark, an American businessman in Bloomington, IN, for the "dissemination of information regarding Ifa and Orisa worship to interested Westerners". Associated with the Imole Oluwa Institute of Nigeria.

Historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections, mid-19th- to mid-20th-century, worldwide. Includes photographs from Basel Mission, Catholic Foreign Mission Society of america, DM-Echange et Mission, Leipzig Mission, Moravian Church (Herrnhut), School of Mission and Theology (Stavanger), School of Oriental and African Studies, and Yale Divinity School Library.

Leiden ASC dossier on Islam in Africa

ASC - Leiden.

"A Non-Profit Religious Organization for the promotion of African Traditional Religions." "Those Traditional Religions of (largely) West Africa and the diaspora, include (but are not limited to) Yeveh Vodoun, Mami Wata, Ifa'Orisha, Palo Mayombe, Asante, Akan, Candomble, Lucumi, Haitian Vodou, New America Vodou and Afro-Santeria." The Founder & President is Mamaissii Vivian Dansi Hounon, M.Ed. Based in Martinez, Georgia, US.

Includes a comparison of Orisha in Africa and Cuba

Religious profiles for 54 African countries. 22 maps show the predominant religion, the main minority religion, Christianity, Catholicism, Protestantism, Islam, Sunnis, Shia and other branches of Islam, traditional religions, Baha'i, Hinduism, Buddhism, Judaism, Atheism, religious freedom, religion and conflict, interesting religious facts, religious change. Includes references. Completed 2007 by Eugene Adogla, funded by a Stanford University grant.

Sharia Debates and Their Perception by Christians and Muslims in Selected African Countries is a University of Bayreuth (Bayreuth, Germany) project on Kenya, Nigeria, Sudan, Tanzania. Includes reading lists.

In French. "...Société des Missions Africaines (qui est appelée aussi Missions Africaines de Lyon) est une communauté des disciples de Jésus" ".....compte 1245 membres et associés, prêtres et laïcs, présents au Bénin, en R.D. Congo, en Côte d'Ivoire, en Egypte, au Ghana, au Liberia, au Maroc, au Nigeria, au Niger, en Centrafrique, au Togo, au Kenya, en Tanzanie, au Zaïre, en Zambie, et en République Sud-Africaine."

"West African Dahomean Vodoun, is the Mother from which all the syncretic forms of Vodoun/Voodoo practiced in the New World, brought over during slavery is derived." Has audio files, information on Mami Wata in West and Central Africa, the visit of Togolese Mami Wata Priest (Mamaisii) to U.S., a bibliography, etc.. Maintained by Mamaissii Vivian Dansi Hounon.