African Studies & African History

The Africa Center for Strategic Studies is located within the U.S. Department of Defense’s National Defense University. It "fosters professional development of Africa’s civilian and military leaders, supports democratic governance in Africa, and facilitates long-term, continuing dialogue with and among leaders from Africa, Europe, and the United States." Has highlights from a roundtable discussion on "September 11: Terrorism from an African Perspective."

A pan-African, independent international NGO established in 1989 to support the OAU African Charter on Human and People's Rights. Has full text documents, publishes the African Human Rights Newsletter, civic education posters, reports, etc. Based in The Gambia.

"regional network of democracy, human rights, and governance organizations." "launched in Abuja, Nigeria, in October 2000." Directory of member NGOs, free e-newsletter. Web site based at Kabissa, in Washington, D.C."

Older election results (up to 2006) in African countries. List of political parties, coalitions, elections results. Elections held the past year, election calendar, country electoral authorities.

Organization aims to enhance ability of journalists, citizen journalists and the news media to provide more timely and relevant elections information and knowledge while undertaking monitoring of specific and important aspects of governance. Includes links to information regarding national and local elections.

Contains decisions from UN bodies, the African commission on Human and People's Rights, and African domestic courts.

An overview of international courts and tribunals operating in or regarding Africa., incl. news, documents, bibliographies and more.

The African Politics Web Archive seeks to preserve web sites for future generations as traditional libraries preserve books, journals, newspapers and other materials. Presidential election web sites generally last only a few months on the web and then disappear.

Chaired by Kofi Annan. Established in 2007 as a result of Tony Blair's Commission for Africa. "The objective of the Africa Progress Panel is to focus world leaders’ attention on delivering on their commitments, particularly the good governance and economic support which is imperative for achieving the Millennium Development Goals."

The Afrobarometer is an independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa.

Secretary General's Report to the United Nations Security Council, 16 April 1998.

Site includes research project news and offers free downloads of CDD publications (in PDF format) on the West African diaspora, Nigerian elections, as well as reports on gender, human rights, governance, security and development in Nigeria and West Africa.

Site includes key published resources and Web links in Sino-African relations.

Leiden ASC dossier on elections in Africa.

NGO South African web site whose focus of concern is elections, electoral practices and the promotion of democratic governance. Includes information services, program areas, and correspondence from field offices.

Site contains articles on democracy, peace and justice, and human rights in Africa.

The web site features general information about various projects, conference reports, and a searchable catalog of the archives on southern Africa held in Scandinavia.

The web site includes current news and publications, such as RECSA Bulletin, RECSA annual reports, and related documents.

Site presents first-hand accounts of this important political movement. Interviews with South African activists, raw video footage documenting mass resistance and police repression, historical documents, rare photographs, and original narratives are included. A project of the African Studies Center of Michigan State University. See also Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa in Aluka described above.

The Bureau of African Affairs, headed by Charles R. Snyder, advises the Secretary and guides the operation of the U.S. diplomatic establishment in the countries of Sub-Saharan Africa.