Librarian
Online Library Resources & Services
Welcome! This guide highlights the major resources the library provides for your research in African Studies. Use the menu at the left to navigate.
Remember:
- You can access most library resources from wherever you are by logging in with your GU NetID and password. (instructions: Off Campus Access)
- Georgetown University Library Covid-19 Updates & Resources gives the latest information about the library.
Key Resources
- Africa ConfidentialNew digest; limited years.
- African Country SitesA comprehensive list of web sites for African nations.
- African Online Digital LibraryPortal for web projects, including: Images, texts, and sound recordings focusing on West Africa. Includes: photographs from "'Passport to Paradise': Sufi arts of Senegal and beyond" exhibit; images of mosques in Bondoukou, Cote d'Ivoire; images from IFAN, L'Institut Fondemental d'Afrique Noire, African Activist Archive and other anti-apartheid resources.
- Africa PortalAfrica Portal is an online knowledge resource for policy-related issues on Africa. Africa Portal offers open access to a suite of features including an online library collection; a resource for opinion and analysis; an experts directory; an international events calendar; and a mobile technology component.
- African Voices: Smithsonian Natural History WebCollection of thematic exhibits on wealth, markets, working, living, and Africans outside Africa. Includes an image-based overview of African history, and focus galleries on Yoruban carving techniques and Afro-Brazilian religion.
- ALUKAIncludes African heritage sites and the Southern African liberation struggle archives.
- Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, National Museum of African ArtPhoto selections from the Smithsonian Institution's African photo archive.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldLists languages geographically, by continent and country, with statistics of speakers.
Generative AI Tools
For information on using generative AI resources like ChatGPT and Elicit in your research, visit our Research Guide for tips on crafting prompts, citing AI tools, and using AI tools ethically.
