African Studies & African History

The microform collections of CAMP form a large pool of historical, political, linguistic, economic and geographical data and primary source materials.

CAMP materials may also be accessed through Center for Research Libraries.

This site features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century. Northwestern Univ.

Africa through a lens is a set of thousands of images taken from a broader photographic collection of Foreign and Commonwealth Office images, held at The National Archives. UK

The 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, etc.

On this site you will find videos relating to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi enriched with synchronized transcripts, searchable index terms, and maps. Videos include testimonies of Genocide survivors and perpetrators, Gacaca Justice System court proceedings, and remembrance ceremonies.

Features 32 manuscripts from the Mamma Haidara Commemorative Library and the Library of Cheick Zayni Baye of Boujbeha, both in Timbuktu, Mali. The manuscripts presented online are displayed in their entirety and are an exemplary grouping that showcase the wide variety of subjects covered by the written traditions of Timbuktu, Mali, and West Africa.

The Liberian Collections include historical and ethnographic documents, newspapers, government publications, books, journals, dissertations, maps, slides, negatives, photographs, microfilms, audio & video tapes, artifacts and memorabilia. IU

"twenty-two Islamic manuscripts [in Arabic script] containing important insights into the life and culture of West Africans during the late Middle Ages and Early Modern Era." A project of the Library of Congress and the Mamma Haidara Commemorative Library of Timbuktu, Mali.

A biography, bibliography of books on Nkrumah, photographs, audio clips. Designed by Zizwe Mtafuta-Ukweli for R4R productions.

The archive preserves and makes accessible a set of linguistic field notes recorded by Eleanor Vandevort, who was a missionary in the South Sudan between 1949 and 1963.

The Archive aspires to include all the figurative African objects in books, periodicals, catalogues, newspapers, and other publications appearing in 1920 and earlier - the oldest dates to 1591.

Documents regarding slaving through Timbuktu.

Digital National Security Archive.

The TRC effected its mandate through 3 committees: the Amnesty Committee, Reparation and Rehabilitation (R&R) Committee and Human Rights Violations (HRV) Committee.

Full-text access to records of the South African TRC, a project of the Historical Papers Archive of Witwatersrand University in Johannesburg and the South African History Archives Project.

The report contains major findings on: the root causes of the conflict, the impact of the conflict on women, children and the generality of the Liberian society; responsibility for the massive commission of Gross Human Rights Violations (GHRV), and violations of International Humanitarian Law (IHL), International Human Rights Law (IHRL) as well as Egregious Domestic Law Violations (EDLV).

The National Reconciliation Commission’s mandate was to promote national reconciliation among Ghanaians by establishing "an accurate and complete historical record" of human rights violations and abuses related to the killing, abduction, disappearance, detention, torture, ill-treatment, and seizure of property during three periods of

The Equity and Reconciliation Commission’s mandate was to investigate forced disappearances and arbitrary detention between Morocco’s independence in 1956 and 1999, to rule on reparation requests pending before the former Independent Commission of Arbitration (created in 1999), and to determine “the responsibility of the state organisms or any other party”.

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission was to produce a report on human rights violations beginning in 1991, provide a forum for both victims and perpetrators, and recommend policies to facilitate reconciliation and prevent future violations. The TRC act provided one year for the commission to produce its report and recommendations, with the possibility of an extension.

Includes over 1,700 photographs showing life in East Africa from 1860-1960. Materials part of the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies, Northwestern University.

The African Online Digital Library (AODL) is a portal to multimedia collections about Africa. MATRIX, working in cooperation with the African Studies Center at Michigan State University, is partnering with universities and cultural heritage organizations in Africa to build this resource.

UCLA / Andrew Apter.

This site features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century. Northwestern Univ.

Over 250 online images. Univ. of Florida.

Maps dating from 16th c. Univ. of Florida.

Divided into five sections: environment, history, politics, economics, and southern Africa. Clear outline maps with explanatory text, it also includes references for further reading. Location: LAU Ref Stacks G 2445 .G7 1994

Recent maps of Africa. Univ. of Florida.

U. of Texas.

Contains decisions from UN bodies, the African commission on Human and People's Rights, and African domestic courts.

This site features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century. Northwestern Univ.

Over 250 online images. Univ. of Florida.

AfricaMap is derived from Harvard University's WorldMap.

Maps dating from 16th c. Univ. of Florida.

In French. French explorer, founder of Brazzaville, Congo, Governor of the French Congo, born in Italy, 1852-1905. Biography, colonial history of Gabon, Congo River, slavery, photographs, illustrations, original documents. Chronology, bibliography. Includes 3-D Flash animated introduction and audio which requires a sound card and headset or speakers.

In Dutch, English, French. Photographs by Edmond Fortier on historical postcards,1900 - 1910. Has an exhibition of postcards from Tombouctou (1906), Benin (1908), Saint-Louis (1900), Djenné (1905). "Includes photographs of l 'Almami" Samori Touré, the son of El Hajj Umar. As photographer and publisher of postcards, he visited Senegal and Guinea, Mali in 1906, Ivory- coast, Benin and Lagos in 1908..." Sells copies of the postcards.

From the Perry Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.

In English and German. The Stadt- und Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main has put on-line a large keyword searchable database of colonial era photographs, 1822-1936, from the archives of the Deutsche Kolonialgesellschaft [German Colonial Society], a major organization behind Germany's colonial expansion. Covers Namibia, Tanzania, Cameroon, Togo, etc. One can click on the small photos to see a larger version. The database can be searched by Region, Subject Areas, Keyword, Person, Photographer, People. The collection, of thousands of photographs, is also being microfilmed for preservation.

In French. "Ce site présente l'exposition universelle de Bruxelles 1910 à travers les cartes postales et documents de la collection personnelle de Xavier Languy." Has postcards of the pavillions for Congo, Madagascar, Mozambique.

Development Ecology Information Service's Map portal to sustainable rural development experiences. Locals are superimposed on FAO soil and agro-climate maps of Africa.

Directory of 2.8 million cities and towns, sorted by country and linked to maps of each town's location. Contains many small towns and villages world-wide. clink on country, then town name for locations and maps.

Recent maps of Africa. Univ. of Florida.

Includes over 1,700 photographs showing life in East Africa from 1860-1960. Materials part of the Melville J. Herkovits Library of African Studies, Northwestern University.