African Studies & African History

"a community of advocates for responsible U.S. relations with Africa. AFJN stresses issues of peacebuilding, human rights and social justice that tie directly into Catholic social teaching. AFJN works closely with Catholic missionary congregations..."

Reprints articles (on AIDS, ecology, gender, NEPAD, youth, human rights, etc.) from the web such as Inter Press Service and AllAfrica.com stories plus original in-depth articles by its editors and others. . "a network of people committed to Africa through its promotion of human rights, economic justice, African perspectives and alternative analyses." The volunteer network included members of the former "Toronto Committee for the Liberation of Southern Africa (TCLSAC) which,... published the Sout

A pan-African, independent international NGO established in 1989 to support the OAU African Charter on Human and People's Rights. Has full text documents, publishes the African Human Rights Newsletter, civic education posters, reports, etc. Based in The Gambia.

Contains decisions from UN bodies, the African commission on Human and People's Rights, and African domestic courts.

In English and French. Established by the former Organization of African Unity. "is charged with ensuring the promotion and protection of Human and Peoples' Rights throughout the African Continent." Has a directory of NGOs with observer status, directory of African national human rights institutions, final communiques of the Commission, mission reports, sections on women, prisons, refugees, death penalty, the full text of legal documents, the Mauritius Plan of Action 1996-2001 etc.

"regional network of democracy, human rights, and governance organizations." "launched in Abuja, Nigeria, in October 2000." Directory of member NGOs, free e-newsletter. Web site based at Kabissa, in Washington, D.C."

A joint project of the Makerere Human Rights and Peace Center and the Univ. of Minnesota Human Rights Center. Includes the full text of the OAU African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (OAU, 1981) and of the U.N. Convention Governing the Specific Aspects of Refugee Problems in Africa, a bibliography of books and journal articles, numerous cases of human rights violations brought before the Human Rights Committee, the full text of a report on African human rights NGOs reflecting the situation between November 1993 and March 1994, documents on children, refugees, inter-African relations, academic freedom, intellectual freedom.

One-year project for seven established African Non-Governmental Organisations "to embark upon a process of benchmarking the performance of key African governments in respect of human security issues, measured against the commitments taken at the level at OAU/AU heads of state meetings." The eight countries being evaluated are Algeria, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa and Uganda. Full text Project and Background Papers. Country Reviews. Based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Offers counseling and survival skills. Offices in Washington, D.C. and Silver Spring, Maryland.

"an organization advocating for the civil, human and sexual rights of the African LGBT community." News, petitions, events, reports.

A network of NGOs and independent national human rights institutions established 2003 to advocate for a fair, effective and independent African Court on Human and People's Rights (to be based in Arusha, Tanzania). Has an e-bulletin, full text papers. Offices in Johannesburg, South Africa and Lagos, Nigeria.

Site for Consortium for Refugees and Migrants in South Africa (CoRMSA), including Newsletter, Policy Briefs, and Resources page.

"...specialist provider of human rights and public interest law services in Nigeria. An independent, non-profit service, HURILAWS advances human rights in Nigeria " Works thru legislative advocacy and legal assistance. Includes the Huri-laws Newsletter, news and legal actions regarding Nigerian journalists and human rights victims. Covers some general African human rights events.

Human rights watch group page includes publications and staff papers on migration and refugee issues in the Lakes Region.

"...the national institution established to entrench constitutional democracy." Has the full text of their 1998 national action plan, outlines their complaints procedure ("The SAHRC will help you if any of your rights in the Bill Of Rights have been violated or abused.)," has a simplified version of the Bill of Rights.

Full text documents such as the 1994 African Platform for Action, Dakar, information on South African organizations, submissions to South African parliamentary committees, a directory of Women's Net partners. Based in Johannesburg, South Africa.