Guides: Russian & East European Studies: Articles & Books

Start Here

Begin your book search here:

HoyaSearch
Use to search across Georgetown library holdings, the Washington Research Library Consortium, and article sources.

Begin your article search here:

American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new window
Citations to U.S. and Canadian publications on topics related to East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union, including culture, history, economics, international relations, and literature. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.

Find Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new window
Citations to U.S. and Canadian publications on topics related to East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union, including culture, history, economics, international relations, and literature. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
Conference proceedings and working papers from participating institutes around the world. Includes the full text of books and book summaries, journal abstracts, links to websites and a calendar of conferences and seminars.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Note: journals in JSTOR usually do not include the most recent three to five years.
Full text (in PDF format) of selected, important scholarly journals in a number of fields.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to worldwide scholarly research in literature (including drama), language, linguistics, folklore, film, radio, television, and theater, representing all national literatures. Does not include book reviews.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
A subject guide to journals, books, pamphlets, and government publications relating to economics, social conditions, and international relations.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Combines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes the major scholarly journals in the social sciences, including public policy, since 1983. For prior years, use Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Cumulates five databases:
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Science Citation Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
In addition to traditional author, title and keyword searches, the citation databases offer access to articles' cited references (from authors' bibliographies). You may take a known, relevant paper and find other, more recent papers that cite it.

Find Books outside of Georgetown

Interlibrary Loans
Find books and request books from local universities (WRLC) and the world (ILL).

WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Over 100 million records for books and other materials in over 60,000 libraries. Items found in WorldCat may be requested through InterLibrary & Consortium Loan services.

Find Articles in Russian and East European Languages

Online Databases of Russian/NIS Publications This link opens in a new window
See particularly "Russian Social Science & Humanities" for academic articles. Includes several databases.

Central and East European Online Library
While the library does not have a subscription to this database, a large number of CEEOL articles are freely accessible.

Integrum Profi This link opens in a new window
Click on "Enter (no registration)" to access database. A searchable database providing a wide variety of current information about Russia, the CIS, and the Baltic states. Includes full text of central and regional newspapers and journals, full text legal databases, and a variety of business and statistical resources and dictionaries. The search interface is available in both English and Russian with queries and results available in Cyrillic or transliterated Roman script.

Transliteration and Searching in Cyrillic

Transliteration is the rendering or conversion of one type of script to another (as opposed to transcription, which concerns the sounds letters make). Many libraries transliterate texts in Cyrillic scripts.

When searching, attempt queries in both transliterated and original text whenever possible. Texts in original language scripts, including Cyrillic, are not always included in all database or library records.

Transliteration systems can vary but most libraries in the United States use the ALA-LC Romanization Tables. Common tables include:

For other types of transliteration of Cyrillic scripts, additional tables referencing the ISO and GOST standards are available.