Get Answers
Best Bets
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new windowCitations to U.S. and Canadian publications on topics related to East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union, including culture, history, economics, international relations, and literature. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.
- Online Databases of Russian/NIS Publications This link opens in a new windowProvides cross-searching of several databases: various historical media archives (Argumenty i Fakty, Izvestiia, Krokodil, Literaturnaia Gazeta, Moscow News, Post-Perestroika Newspapers, Pravda, Societskoe Zdravookhranenie, Voennaia Mysl'); Current Digest of the [Soviet and] Post-Soviet Press; CIS & Baltic Periodicals; Russian Central Newspapers; Social Sciences & Humanities [periodicals]; individual titles (Far Eastern Affairs, International Affairs, Social Sciences, Voprosy Literatury); 2010 Presidential Election in Belarus, and Russian/NIS Newswires. Most sources are in Russian or English.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowCombines several of the Library's heavily used databases, including ProQuest Research Library, into one easy-to-search interface. Thousands of journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and other scholarly content on a very broad range of topics and sources.
Transliteration and Searching in Cyrillic
Transliteration is the rendering or conversion of one type of script to another (as opposed to transcription, which concerns the sounds letters make). Many libraries transliterate texts in Cyrillic scripts.
- Russian
- Belarusian
- Church Slavonic
- Kazakh
- Non-Slavic Languages in Cyrillic Script
- Rusyn/Carpatho-Rusyn
- Serbian
- Ukrainian
For other types of transliteration of Cyrillic scripts, additional tables referencing the ISO and GOST standards are available.
Library of Congress Resources
Beyond Georgetown's collections, the Library of Congress offers vast physical and electronic collections of materials related to Russian, East European, and Eurasian studies.
The European Reading Room (Jefferson Buildng, Room LJ-249) is open to researchers to use the library's physical and electronic collections on-site. Staff are available to answer questions and to help you navigate the Library's holdings. Overviews of the Library's regional collections are available online, as well as lists of electronic resources that can be accessed by researchers when in the Library.
Researchers should expect to obtain a reader registration card in person before accessing collections and should review the Library of Congress guides for researchers before traveling to Capitol Hill.
