Electronic Encyclopedia and Reference Collections
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowProvides online, full text access to Gale subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Encyclopedias
-
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union
Call Number: LAU Stacks DK14 .C35 1994ISBN: 0521355931Organized in 13 sections, contains information on the physical environment, peoples, religion, history, art, language and literature, sciences, politics, and economy. Focuses on Russia. Many illustrations. Includes a glossary and an index. -
Dictionary of East European History Since 1945
Call Number: LAU Stacks DJK50 .H43 1994Includes an overview of the region as a whole followed by sections on each country. Provides a map, a chronology, and entries for people and topics. Includes a general subject index. -
Eastern Europe: An Introduction to the People, Lands, and Culture
Call Number: LAU Ref Stacks DJK9 .E25 2005Arranged by geographical regions. Entries for each country are: land and people, history, and political, cultural, and economic developments. Also has maps of the area from different time periods. 3 volumes. -
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe
Call Number: LAU Stacks DJK6 .E53 2000Includes entries for Albania, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, and the countries that once made up Yugoslavia. Some information on European Russia is included. Gives brief but comprehensive introduction into a country's history during the last two centuries. Includes article on political organizations and movements and extensive maps. -
Encyclopedia of Russian history : from the Christianization of Kiev to the break-up of the U.S.S.R.
by
Call Number: LAU Stacks DK36 .P39 1993Publication Date: 1993Revised ed. of Companion to Russian History
-
Encyclopedia of Russian Women's Movements
by
Call Number: LAU Stacks HQ1665.15 .E5 2001ISBN: 0313304386Publication Date: 2001One vol. encyclopedia of feminism and feminist movements in Russia and the Soviet Union. -
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Call Number: LAU Pierce Reading Rm GN307 .E53 1991This ten-volume set offers detailed descriptions of major ethnic groups. Each volume contains a glossary and filmography. Includes bibliographical references and index. CONTENTS: v. 4. Europe (Central, Western, and Southeastern Europe) -- v. 6. Russia and Eurasia/China -
Ethnohistorical Dictionary of the Russian and Soviet Empires
Call Number: LAU Stacks DK33 .E837 1994Arranged alphabetically by name of ethnic group, covers a group's history up through the disintegration of the Soviet Union. An appendix includes various statistical tables and a chronology of the Russian and Soviet empires. Indexed. -
Great Soviet Encyclopedia
by
Call Number: LAU Pierce Reading Rm AE55 .B6513Publication Date: 1973-Translation of Bolʹsha︠i︡a sovetska︠i︡a ėn︠t︡siklopedi︠i︡a (3rd ed.) A "faithfully" translated version of the general encyclopedia officially published in the Soviet Union. Includes an index in the last volume. 31 volumes.
-
Modern Encyclopedia of Russian, Soviet and Eurasian History
by
Call Number: LAU Pierce Reading Rm DK14 .M6ISBN: 0875690645Publication Date: 1976-60 volume set covering events, personalities, and institutions important to the history of Russia and the Soviet Union. Articles derived from various Russian reference sources. Indexed by authors, time periods, and subjects.
-
The burdens of freedom : Eastern Europe since 1989
Call Number: LAU Stacks DJK51 .K464 2006ISBN: 1842776630
