REES 5500 : Intro to Area Studies

Click on "Enter (no registration)" to access database.
Search and access Russian Mass Media (SMI) including transcripts, news sources, social media, and blogs. See the box on this page for more tips on using Integrum.

Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM) contains around 40 actively publishing Russian central newspapers and weekly magazines, covering the entire spectrum of domestic news, as well as the currents of Russia’s economic and cultural life. Most items are published in either Russian or English.

Provides cross-searching of several databases: various historical media archives (Argumenty i Fakty, Izvestiia, Krokodil, Literaturnaia Gazeta, Moscow News, Post-Perestroika Newspapers, Pravda, Societskoe Zdravookhranenie, Voennaia Mysl'); Current Digest of the [Soviet and] Post-Soviet Press; CIS & Baltic Periodicals; Russian Central Newspapers; Social Sciences & Humanities [periodicals]; individual titles (Far Eastern Affairs, International Affairs, Social Sciences, Voprosy Literatury); 2010 Presidential Election in Belarus, and Russian/NIS Newswires. Most sources are in Russian or English.

Limited to 5 concurrent users.
Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, and historical market data.

Includes full-text translations of foreign radio and television broadcasts as well as selected foreign news, periodical articles and government statements. Search by geographic region, article type or publication title. Browse "Events" to see chronological coverage of topics of interest. Coverage is continued by the World News Connection database.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. Nexi Uni has three primary collections: 1) full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; 2) aggregated economic data on businesses, corporations, and industries in the U.S. and abroad; 3) full-text legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.

A collection of more than 600 of the world's top newspapers and wire feeds. For nearly all of them, complete articles are available in text format. The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, and The Asian Wall Street Journal are just a few of the sources included.

Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Contains information derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Coverage runs from 1995 to December 31, 2013.

Direct access to washingtonpost.com for GU students, faculty, and staff. More information in the News Research Guide.

Foreign Policy is an American news publication, founded in 1970 and focused on global affairs, current events, and domestic and international policy. Access includes an online repository of all current and previously published Foreign Policy digital data, access to the complete digital print archive, topical and regional newsletters, podcasts, live interviews, and FP Insider.

Registration required: follow the instructions on our New York Times guide and complete registration before accessing.

Provides unlimited access to New York Times content from 1981-present on nytimes.com. Includes access to the New York Times mobile app.