Guides: REES 5500 : Intro to Area Studies: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Cambridge Archive Editions Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Archive Editions Online is the first-ever digital presentation of the exceptionally well-known and respected series of British archival reprints, known as Archive Editions (UK). Britain's rich history with Middle Eastern countries via its East India Company trade routes up through the Persian Gulf & beyond is revealed in the 100+ individual titles on countries in the Middle Eastern collection. The Slavic & Balkan collection delivers a good introduction to the Balkan region, particularly concerning political & ethnic boundary issues. Titles in the East/Southeast Asian collection deliver insight with historic political & economic reports. All volumes are entirely composed of primary source material, from the British Foreign Record Office & other official British archival repositories.
Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 2,000 films produced in the USSR and other Communist countries during the Cold War, archived by the British Film Institute. All films have been versioned or dubbed into English and come with searchable transcripts.
The digitised films cover many aspects of the socialist experience from everyday life and society to culture, the Cold War, memory and current affairs. Footage includes documentaries, newsreels and feature films. This impressive collection reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers. It ranges from the early twentieth century to the 1980s and examines the themes of War & Revolution (Module 1), News & Current Affairs (Module 2), and Culture & Society (Module 3). All films have been versioned or dubbed into English and come with searchable transcripts.
Belarus Presidential Election, 2010 This link opens in a new window
Documents from the 2010 presidential election in Belarus. In Russian, Belarusian, and English.
Euromaidan Protests in Ukraine, 2013-2014 This link opens in a new window
Russia State Duma Elections 2016 This link opens in a new window
Party platforms, candidate lists, spending information, flyers, and other election ephemera from the Russian Duma elections of 2016.
Stalin Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
A web-based archive of archival materials and secondary research, this database presents documents that have previously only been available at the RGASPI archive in Russia. Digital versions of Yale’s Annals of Communism series supplement the RGASPI collection with additional scholarly commentary on selected documents concerning the history of Soviet and international communism from Russian state archives spanning the 75-year history of the USSR.

Euro Docs
A collection of online primary historical sources from Russia in Russian, English, and other languages.

EVGeoCloud This link opens in a new window
EVGeoCloud is a web-based platform that provides online access to catalogs of maps and geospatial data. Available datasets include:
--De Agostini WING
--Georgetown-Soviet City Plans
--ML Infomap India Dataset
--ML Infomap India- June 2014 Update Natural Earth II Raster
--Natural Earth- Cultural
--Natural Earth Physical