Your Librarian
Start Here
Take a look at the European Data and Documents Guide to start. You'll find links to national data sources, law sources, and statistics for the countries in the East European region.
General Sources
-
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new windowA free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created and accessed every 6 months from on-campus or through the proxied link above. Visit this guide for more information.
Provides access to computerized social science data collected by the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. -
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics This link opens in a new windowThe Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. It contains 55 tables, comprising over 100 indicators, of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects. Data available from 2000 - present.
-
OECD Data Explorer This link opens in a new window
Contains quarterly, monthly and annual time series measuring economic and social conditions in OECD member countries, the most highly industrialised in the world. Topics include general economic indicators, development and aid, agriculture, national accounts, labor market and social issues, foreign trade, and industry, science and technology.
-
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of US and international statistics in Sage Data. Allows you to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
Russian & Eastern European Resources
-
Universal Database of Russian/NIS Statistical Publications & All-Russia CensusIncludes dozens of statistical publications from Russia and the NIS, in Russian. Also includes the results of the All-Russian Population Census
-
EurostatData from the Statistical Office of the European Union, allowing for comparisons among EU members and regions. Covers national accounts, employment, industry, energy, services, agriculture, external trade, prices, financial statistics and balance of payments.
-
Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CISStat)Statistics from the countries of the CIS.
General Data by Topic
-
FitchConnect This link opens in a new windowFitchConnect integrates country risk, analysis of financial markets, and industry research, providing users with a variety of company and industry information including credit research, credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, Financial Implied Ratings, and a curated news service.
-
Passport This link opens in a new window
This resource will no longer be available after November 1, 2025.
formerly Global Market Information Database
Global in scope, Euromonitor's Passport provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts. Details include expenditure patterns, viewing time per medium and demographics. Use the search box in the upper left corner to find an industry. -
Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries
-
WDI Online This link opens in a new window
Comparable data collected by the World Bank to measure development outcomes. The World Bank's principal data source on the global economy. More than 550 time series, 1960-present, on more than 200 countries and 18 country groups, covering demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
-
European Social Survey (ESS)The European Social Survey monitors and analyzes quantitative interactions between the changing institutions on the continent and the beliefs and attitudes of Europe’s diverse populations.
-
World Values Survey (WVS)This is a place to learn more about values and cultural changes in societies all over the world.
-
IPUMS InternationalCensus data collected for health and social research.
-
Caucasus BarometerData from the Caucasus Research Resource Center focused on Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Georgia.
-
Eurobarometer Survey SeriesSemiannual public opinion surveys for European countries conducted for the European Commission, 1974 to present. CEEB subset covers "candidate" countries, 1990 to 1997.
-
Legislation OnlineOnline legislative database maintained by the OSCE.
-
EUR-LexEuropean Union Law
-
GlobalLexA collection of guides to the law systems in various countries.
-
Online Databases of Russian/NIS PublicationsConsists of several databases: 1) Pravda Digital Archive (includes complete archives); 2) Current Digest of the [Soviet and] Post-Soviet Press (complete archive); 3) Izvesti︠i︡a; 4)CIS & Baltic Periodicals; 5) Russian Central Newspapers; 6) Social Sciences & Humanities [periodicals]; 7) Individual Titles (Far Eastern Affairs, International Affairs, Social Sciences, Voprosy Literatury); and 8) Russian/NIS Newswires.
