Your Librarian
Document Collections
-
Stalin Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowA web-based archive of archival materials and secondary research, this database presents documents that have previously only been available at the RGASPI archive in Russia. Digital versions of Yale’s Annals of Communism series supplement the RGASPI collection with additional scholarly commentary on selected documents concerning the history of Soviet and international communism from Russian state archives spanning the 75-year history of the USSR.
-
Alexander III and the Policy of "Russification," 1883-1886 This link opens in a new windowRecords from the British Foreign Office regarding Russia during the reign of Alexander III, who pursued a policy of Slavic nationalism as "retro-reform" against Western liberalism. Part of Archives Unbound.
-
Cambridge Archive Editions Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Archive Editions Online is the first-ever digital presentation of the exceptionally well-known and respected series of British archival reprints, known as Archive Editions (UK). Britain's rich history with Middle Eastern countries via its East India Company trade routes up through the Persian Gulf & beyond is revealed in the 100+ individual titles on countries in the Middle Eastern collection. The Slavic & Balkan collection delivers a good introduction to the Balkan region, particularly concerning political & ethnic boundary issues. Titles in the East/Southeast Asian collection deliver insight with historic political & economic reports. All volumes are entirely composed of primary source material, from the British Foreign Record Office & other official British archival repositories.
-
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new windowProvides access to post- World War II papers from the CIA, the FBI and many other agencies, which have been gathered from presidential libraries. Major domestic and international events of the post-World War II world are covered, including the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, and the civil rights movement. Documents display in a digital facsimile format or ASCII text.
-
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new windowThis resource may contain content still classified by the United States Government. Individuals holding security clearances use at their own risk. A full-text database of over 50 core collections of primary documents acquired by the George Washington University based National Security Archive. The collection has been acquired through extensive use of FOIA. Each core collection is focused on one topic, e.g. Iran-Contra, Terrorism and U.S. Policy. Each topical collection includes diverse policy documents supplemented by contextual and reference material on chronology, glossary and bibliography.
-
HathiTrust This link opens in a new windowTo login to Georgetown's instance of HathiTrust, click on the large yellow "Log In" button. Select "Georgetown University" as your partner institution and click "Continue". Once prompted, login in using your NetID and password.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
-
Euro DocsA collection of online primary historical sources from Russia in Russian, English, and other languages.
Library of Congress Resources
Beyond Georgetown's collections, the Library of Congress offers vast physical and electronic collections of materials related to Russian, East European, and Eurasian studies.
The European Reading Room (Jefferson Buildng, Room LJ-249) is open to researchers to use the library's physical and electronic collections on-site. Staff are available to answer questions and to help you navigate the Library's holdings. Overviews of the Library's regional collections are available online, as well as lists of electronic resources that can be accessed by researchers when in the Library.
Researchers should expect to obtain a reader registration card in person before accessing collections and should review the Library of Congress guides for researchers before traveling to Capitol Hill.
European Collections at the Library of Congress
Selected collection content available online at the Library of Congress, arranged by broad categories. The Library's online content represents only a small percentage of its physical holdings.
Eastern Europe
- East European Government Ministries Web Archive
- In the Beginning was the Word: The Russian Church and Native Alaskan Cultures
- Meeting of Frontiers
- Polish Declarations of Admiration and Friendship for the United States
- Reflections: Russian Photographs 1992-2002
- Revelations from the Russian Archives
- Roger Fenton Crimean War Photographs
- Russian Independent Media Web Archive
- Russian Political Parties Web Archive
- The Empire that Was Russia
- The Sergei Mikhailovich Produdin-Gorskii Collection (Russian Empire 1905-1915)
- The William C. Brumfield Photograph Collection
The European Reading Room is the primary public access point for readers and researchers seeking to use the vast European collections of the Library of Congress, including those from Russian-speaking areas of Asia. The reading room is staffed by reference librarians and area specialists from the European Division, who offer in-depth reference assistance and work with other Library of Congress units in developing collections that meet the research needs of a varied constituency.
Other Local Libraries & Archives
-
ArchiveGridA searchable collection of finding aids to primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. Includes historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
-
Hillwood Museum and Gardens Art Research LibraryOnline access to the Hillwood's library catalog is available from this site. The library is available to researchers by appointment only.
-
National Archives and Records AdministrationThe site contains documents and information routinely available to the public as well as those released under FOIA. You can also find information about visiting the archives on this page.
